To teach or not to teach?

After getting my Master’s Degree in Education, I spent 12 years teaching – either in Catholic School or public school and then, when I had the audacity to move to Monmouth County, I didn’t know the right people. I subbed for two years but when the job offers didn’t come rolling in, I reverted to my office experience and started temping. Now I am working as an Assistant Project Manager (sort of) in a construction firm and the strange thing is I am truly enjoying my new job. All right – to be honest there are parts I’m not that fond of … aren’t there parts of every job that are not so desireable? My nemesis is filing – either paper files or electronic files – I find it tremendously boring! However the trade off is I get to work on budgets and color in drawings – I once made the mistake of saying that I was coloring pictures and the project managers (all male) nearly fell off their chairs. We call them drawings, NOT pictures!

Anyway, my point is after spending so much time learning to teach and then teaching, should I miss it? I don’t begrudge the time spent at Georgian Court University because I think education is never wasted. But is this just a new phase in my working career? Do I have problems making up my mind as to what I want to be when I grow up? Or is it that I can adapt and make any situation work? I think I’ll go with the latter… I started with this company as a temp and was then hired full time as a receptionist. After a year and a half of that, I got moved to my new nameless job. I do a lot of the same things as the Assistant Project Manager but not all.

There are definite perks to working outside the school system. I don’t have to go on vacation at the same time as every adult with school aged children. I get bonuses (actually enough to allow me to go to England, something that’s been on my to-do list since I was started reading Enid Blyton at age 8). And my work day does stop at 5PM or whenever I get out of the office. No more bringing home projects to try at home first, or prepping projects for the 5 year olds in my class.

The con side of this argument is that every now and then I remember a great project/idea that I did with the kids and the look in their eyes when it came out right! Funny how I don’t remember the bad parts … but that is the nature of the beast isn’t it? You remember all the good stuff, not necessarily the bad. As August comes to a close and teachers get their classrooms ready, I feel a tug, thinking about what my classroom used to look like. And having Hey Teach, (www.heyteach.biz) the online store my sister and Helen and I run, allows me to keep up to date with the new things teachers are using. I can see incorporating them into my ideal classroom. But real life is never ideal is it? Work with what you’ve got at any given moment and make the best of it. How many more cliche’s can I work into this blog? None, I’ve got to get on the road.

Leave a Reply

