The End of Summer

My mother’s birthday is tomorrow. Her birthday was always the beginning of the end for us because it signaled the end of the summer. School was coming and it meant we had to leave the beach. For us, the beach was Long Beach Island where we would go for weekends. The summer I was 14, that first weekend stretched for the entire summer. We would breathlessly wait on Sunday nights while my parents discussed whether we would be going home. Poor Dad had to go home at the end of the weekend and we stayed with my mother for “one more week”. That was one of the best summers! There is something really special about a place where there is no TV and you are almost removed from the “everyday”. Days on the beach, trips to the tiny library in Beach Haven, games of Ghost in the Graveyard … there are times when I just want to go back in time.

For my mother’s birthday, I made her Elevator Lady Spice Cookies, which are one of her favorite cookies. These are perfect for the advent of fall. You can find them in Peg Bracken’s I Hate to Cook Book. We are also bringing her the other perfect fall food – fresh, crunchy apples. Every year about this time, I get a craving for apples. It lasts for a few weeks, then I’m good for another year.

Leave a Reply

