H is for HUMOR

I am very lucky to have been born into a family with a great sense of humor. I don’t know whether everyone finds us amusing, but it works for us. The females of the group are really similar – to the point of finishing each other’s jokes. It was my mother’s birthday recently and I wanted to, using the plush Jellycats we sell in our store, give her a hippopotamus, a duck, and two lambs (hippo birdie two ewes – happy birthday to you….) which I had first seen years ago done brilliantly by Sandra Boynton and have stolen shamelessly from her. That just cracks me up – still does. Unfortunately, we didn’t have the hippo anymore and without him, it just didn’t work.
We have always used humor to help us get through rough times. It may not be always be taken as entirely appropriate (I have gotten some disdainful looks at wakes and funerals) but it was always remembering the person in a good light, which I think is important.
So for me, a sense of humor is very important in a person. If you can’t laugh at life and at yourself, you’ll bring me down. And oh … I’d so much rather be laughing!

3 Responses to “H is for HUMOR”

  1. amanda Says:

    Is the humor my outfit in that picture…..

  2. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    I do think life is much easier for those of us who can see humor in almost anything..

  3. Mary Beth Says:

    Amanda – you were the height of fashion then.She of Little Brain – it certainly makes the trip a little more pleasant doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

