X … Y … Z

It’s the end of the month and I’m at the end of the alphabet – rather well balanced, if I do say so myself. Actually, I’m cheating a little by doing three in one post but they go well together and I’m rather daringly signed up for the NaBloPoMo challenge where I have to blog every day for the next 30 days, and I will not only be doing it for this blog, but also contributing to our store’s blog at Hey Teach – so be sure to visit me there too. Anyway, I need to finish this alphabetical theme so I can explore new horizons (translation … I’m bored with this – need something new). However, these three letters deserve equal recognition as the preceding 23 so here goes ….


X is for XIPHOSURAN (If I may brag a little, I got that spelling right on the first try). This refers to the species Xiphosura which includes horseshoe crabs. We always defined it as a king crab. I learned about this spectacular word when I was in kindergarten and we needed to bring in show and tell items for each letter. My mother would not accept anything so mundane as x-ray, and believe me, no one else brought in a xiphosuran.


Y is for YARBOROUGH which is hand of cards holding nothing higher than a 9. This is something I very often get dealt when I play Bridge, much to the chagrin of my partner, who usually winds up playing that hand.


Z is for ZEST. I find that I use this in two different ways – there is the zest of fruit, like oranges and lemons. That is the colored part of the skin which, when grated and added to recipes, adds tons of flavor without any of the bitterness. Then there is zest for life which is something I find I have no problem exhibiting:)


Well, this has been fun …. til next month and the next set of ideas …. Happy Halloween

One Response to “X … Y … Z”

  1. Hey Teach! Says:

    zip, zip cinderelli

Leave a Reply

