VETERAN’S DAY

Today is Veteran’s Day Observed – for those who weren’t able to do anything yesterday, you get a second chance. And for some, it’s a day off from work.
Yesterday, we were looking for something to post on the Hey Teach blog and Helen read a few poems she’d found online. They were beautiful and poignant and the one she finally chose gave me goosebumps. But none of them really spoke to me. I am moved by them but I won’t remember them by tomorrow. This poem is more ME and it will stay with me. Those who know me will understand…
KNIGHT-IN-ARMOUR
by AA Milne
Whenever I’m a shining Knight,
I buckle on my armour tight;
And then I look about for things,
Like Rushings-Out, and Rescuings,
And Savings from the Dragon’s Lair,
And fighting all the Dragons there.
And sometimes when our fights begin,
I think I’ll let the Dragons win …
And then I think perhaps I won’t,
Because they’re Dragons, and I don’t.

For those who have gone before, and for those who are out there fighting our Dragons now, I say THANK YOU

Leave a Reply

