OFFICE RANT

I work in the NJ branch of a larger NY office. There are 11 of us here on a regular basis. This is pretty small compared to most offices. And there is a lot of interaction between me and most of the people. I started working here 2 years ago as a receptionist. I sat up front and saw everyone every day. Now, I’ve moved up to Assistant Project Manager and I have an office in the back. This suits me fine because I can get a lot of work done with minimal interruptions. However, I am still part of the office and should be included in things.
One of my weekly jobs is to print reports to be included with the payroll that gets sent out into the field. The reports allow our foremen to have information at their fingertips without having to access computers, which are not available on all the construction sites. Payroll goes out Wednesday so the guys can get their checks on Thursday. Occasionally, if there is a holiday on Thursday, the checks come a day early so they can still be paid on time. On those weeks, we get everything ready on Tuesday.

With Thanksgiving two days away, this is one of those weeks. Now, if I had been thinking about it, I would have realized this and had everything prepared. But these reports are no longer one of the main things I do and I’m thinking about a million other things besides payroll. So if the person who is in charge of these things hands around a memo letting everyone know that payroll will be going out a day early because of the holiday, isn’t it inconsiderate not to include me? I have what has been stressed to me as a very important part of payroll but obviously not important enough to warrant a copy of the memo.

After I found out that payroll had arrived today (as an aside from another colleague – still not from the person in charge of it), I rushed to get the reports ready to go out to the field. They didn’t take a lot of time, but the change did throw a wrench in my schedule. And it wouldn’t bother me so much if I thought it was just because this person forgot to let me know. Rather, it is because she doesn’t think I need to know that information (I can’t figure out how she gets to that thought) and because by including me as a recipient of the memo, she has to acknowledge that I have moved on despite her efforts to keep me where I was.
Let me be clear, there is no love lost on either side here. I have absolutely no respect for this person and am not sophisticated enough to hide my disgust at some of her behavior. I try and have as little to do with her as possible. But I never deliberately leave her out of things. And I would appreciate reciprocation!
Thank you for letting me vent. I feel better now.
3 Responses to “OFFICE RANT”

  1. painted maypole Says:

    so glad not to be part of office politics. so glad.daytime drama induced by a 5 year old? I’m ALL over that.sigh.

  2. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    Gee, I’m glad to be retired:)Hope you and Helen have a very Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Hey Teach! Says:

    Just think you could be as miserable as she is

Leave a Reply

