THE AMULET OF SAMARKAND

I just finished this book by Jonathan Stroud. What fun! It involves magicians (something near and dear to my heart) and demons … I’m sorry, djinni, as they prefer to be called …. and a great story line. That Bartimaeus (the djinni) has a great sense of humor and a nice turn of phrase makes the book even more enjoyable to read. It took me a while to get used to the footnotes that occur frequently throughout Bartimaeus‘ narrative, however my last experiences with footnotes involved Chaucer and Shakespeare and translations. Mr. Stroud’s are much easier to follow and they are a wonderful way to introduce young adults to that literary technique.

I am really looking forward to the next two books in this series. If I didn’t have a pile of books waiting for me, two of which need to be back at the library next week, I would be at Borders even as we speak. I just hope the rest of the series lives up to the first book. Unfortunately, I’ve run into other authors who have a marvelous first book and the next couple fizzle out. However, fingers crossed!

One Response to “THE AMULET OF SAMARKAND”

  1. painted maypole Says:

    hmm… sounds interesting

Leave a Reply

