DECEMBER 27TH

A happy belated Christmas to you all.

We spent Christmas Eve with the family, decorating the tree and twisting the lights and garland, then twining it around the banister of the stairs going up the full length of the house. We have always decorated the tree on Xmas eve but the garland is a new tradition. We stupidly started it a few years ago and my mother fell so in love with it, we have to do it every year now. Whereas it looks gorgeous when it is finished the effort it takes to get there is extreme. Since we use live garland, there is a great deal of sap that transfers from evergreen to hands before the project is complete.

For Christmas, we managed to get everyone together. It was very amusing to get my two younger brothers together – they are always such good company. This was my Christmas of books. There was a carton of book for me (my favorite of kind of present) and brother #1 gave me the complete set of Narnia in audio for me to listen to as I drive or as we’re packing for the store. It was such a thoughtful gift and one I am looking forward to putting to good use. Actually my family has a tendency to give very fine presents and they did not disappoint this year. And even more, they are most appreciative of my gifts, which does my ego quite a lot of good.

(This blog is taking quite a while because we’re watching Pride and Prejudice – the Keira Knightly/Matthew McFadden version – and my attention is fully taken elsewhere. God! I’m such a GIRL!)

Okay, 2 1/2 hours have now passed. And since it is very close to my bedtime and I have to go to work tomorrow, I must finish this quickly. Sooo, Christmas was good – being with the whole family was the usual mayhem – an event managed only once or twice a year. This year we were joined by Lambeau (brother #2’s new dog). The day after Christmas passed in a Christmas coma – nothing above a shamble. And it was spent with books, movies, a cat in the lap. Perfect way to give my ankle a rest (I did have an excuse) and get me ready to go back to work today. I have to say, I could get used to that way of life – independent wealth and lots of books to read :p

4 Responses to “DECEMBER 27TH”

  1. PG Says:

    It really doesn’t get much better than that! I read about your ankle incident and winced for you. I suffer from an ankle too, so I know how it feels, though your tumble sounded particularly awful – poor you.

  2. painted maypole Says:

    that does sound like a nice life. 🙂

  3. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    Now how did I guess your favorite presents would be books! Hope your ankle is healing up well.

  4. Mary Beth Says:

    PG and SOLB – the ankle is definitely on the mend – I can even walk like a normal human again (I swear, I was beginning to feel like the shambling monster sidekick). And how nice to have an excuse to sit and read all day:)PM – there are some perks to being the only one I’m responsible for;)

Leave a Reply

