THE LIBERTINE

The other night, I turned off this movie before it was over. This is very unusual for me because I will sit through just about anything (I saw Rescue Dawn all the way through, for god’s sake). And the movie had Johnny Depp in it, which makes it twice as unusual, because for those cheekbones …. I have 21 Jump Street on DVD – nuff said. However, I was so disgusted by the movie, I checked with Helen who is, if possible, a bigger Johnny Depp fan.

I had a basic idea of the plot of the movie so I was not overly surprised when he became sexually active in the carriage within the first 5 minutes of the movie. I really don’t think of myself as a prude or old-maidish, but when he started referring to women as C*&)s, I got offended. This is pretty much the only word I won’t use. Otherwise, I have been know to swear vociferously, and after working in a gift store with a certain proprietor, I have even learned new words. But that one is just so degrading and disgusting, I won’t use it and I tend to think less of people who do. I realize that not everyone regards it as I do, and that’s fine. I’m not going to tell anyone how to speak and what language to use. Just, please, don’t use it in front of me, cause if you do, I’m either speaking up against it or leaving.

So, JD – I’ll watch you in Chocolat (sigh) back to back to back, ad infinitum. And any or all three of the Pirates (double sigh), and Don Juan DeMarco …. okay – enough, I do have to work for another three hours and it’s getting kind of hot in here.

2 Responses to “THE LIBERTINE”

  1. Hey Teach! Says:

    It wasn’t just the c word, it was the whole sex for sex sake no matter who or what. And don’t forget Benny & June and Donny Brasco.

  2. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    Good for you, Mary Beth! Where does hollywood get the idea we like that stuff anyway?

Leave a Reply

