MONDAY MISSION – Thank You Letter

Since we moved a year and half ago, our books have been in a complete disarray. Some were on shelves, some in drawers, some piled high on the floor. This weekend, we decided to finally do something about it. So this is a Thank You to my parents for starting me on this expensive, but so worthwhile journey.

Thank you for reading to me from the very beginning. I remember sitting on the floor of the hall upstairs, with our backs against the wall, reading Treasure Island and being so scared of Blind Pew. And getting so excited with all the books that had hidden passages (I’ve always wanted a secret passage in our house). I was SURE there was a hidden room behind the closet in sister #3‘s room because the builders of the house put an extra “mock” window on the siding outside to give it a symmetrical look. Even as an adult, I tried to get you to put a secret passage in the beach house when you were re-building, but it wasn’t feasible.

Thank you for curtailing my TV viewing as a child, although at the time, I wasn’t that happy. But now, I understand why you did it and, seeing how much I love TV now, what would I be like if I watched it all the time then? Thank you for making sure I read the book before I could see the TV version. Otherwise, I may have never read Lorna Doon, but I would definitely have missed out on the Foresytes. And now, I enjoy movies even more with the background the books give me.

Thank you for passing on the reading genes. For giving me the ability to block out everything else when I’m in the middle of a good book, including people around me talking. For instilling in me the love and respect for the printed page so that I would rather rescue some of my books from a burning building rather than some people I know. (But I’m pretty sure those people are immune to fire anyway.)

I wish I didn’t get all the “keeping” genes …. the need to have the books around me so I can re-read them at any time. However, there are quite a few that I consider to be old friends that I can turn to in times of trouble or pain. When I had my gall bladder removed, I went back to Enid Blyton. My attention span was at an all time low, but her books were perfect. They brought me back to a less stressful, less painful time. And they gave me happy dreams. If I hadn’t kept my books, I might have been at a loss for something to read. I could never have put into words what I was looking for or what I needed … but it was there when I looked.

And thank you so much for continuing to give books as presents, year after year. This weekend, Helen and I decided to finally try to get our books in order. In shopping with you over Christmas, there were several books I looked at and tried to decide if I should add them to my pile or not. I knew I loved them but I couldn’t remember whether I had them at home or not. Knowing we needed more shelf space, we went to Ikea (oh, yeah – thanks for introducing me to that lovely place – I never get out of there without spending any money) and got a few more bookcases. We got three small ones to go under the bay window in the living room (to kill two birds with one stone – a place for books on the shelves and a place for cats along the top) and one big one to go along the far wall. Helen is going to get her room completely lined with bookshelves before she knows it. We I put together the bookcases and we found that the three smaller ones were about 6 inches taller than the window sill. I was absent the day they passed out the ability to decide, with pinpoint accuracy, whether an object will fit in a space or not. So, we went to plan B – putting them against the wall.

Then we got together all our books. It’s borderline obscene how many books we have. For anyone who didn’t know us, they would think we were ready to start a bonfire. The books started out as piles, but the piles kept falling over. Once we got them all together, we separated them into stacks, alphabetically by author. We had stacks going around the room. But finally, we started getting them onto the shelves. We managed to get through the letter M before we ran out of room, again. So it looks like we’re going back to Ikea next weekend for a few more bookcases. Luckily, we have many more authors at the beginning of the alphabet, so we won’t need quite as many cases.

So, thank you. Thank you for showing me how to entertain myself anywhere, anytime, as long as I have a book. (To those of you who were thinking something else, I say “Get your minds out of the gutter – this letter is to my parents, for god’s sake!) Thank you for teaching me to enrich my mind whenever I open a book. Thank you for giving me the most wonderful escape.

And now, I’ve only got a few more chapters left so I’m going to find out how Bartimaeus gets out his latest predicament! If you need me, you know where to find me:)

5 Responses to “MONDAY MISSION – Thank You Letter”

  1. painted maypole Says:

    lovely. your parents certainly started something good.thanks for playing along. I’ll go put you in my links!

  2. amanda Says:

    it really is a curse, i am never going to be able to read all the books I want to in my lifetime.

  3. Hey Teach! Says:

    I’m so tired just reading about what we did this weekend. I need another weekend now just to get over this weekend.

  4. PG Says:

    You can never. Ever. Have to many books. This is a fact. And you can never start a child too early on the rich road to reading. God bless all parents who have the sense to realise this.

  5. the dragonfly Says:

    I read to the Little Mister every day. He likes Dr. Seuss, I’m sure he likes the rhythm and rhyme.And I totally agree, you can never have too many books. It just isn’t possible!

Leave a Reply

