GO GREEN BAY!!!

Yesterday was hair-cutting day so off we went to LBI to see our hair guru Rick. Helen & my mom got their hair trimmed while Rick laughed at me for trying to grow out my hair. I go through this every year or so – during the winter I try and grow out my hair. It rarely gets below my shoulders before I get thoroughly fed up with it and go back to my normal cut. Since my hair has some wave to it, I usually keep it relatively short so it catches the curl. Also, my hair is sooo fine/thin that when I pull it up, if I don’t do it properly, it looks like I have bald spots. And then there’s the whole – get up, shower, run my hand through my hair and I’m ready to go – bit. Very easy, low maintenance, etc. Anyway, that’s why Rick laughs every time I say I’m trying to grow out my hair because he knows that within two months, I’ll be bored and will want it short again.

After we did the whole hair bit, we checked the beach house to make sure water was still running, lights were still lit, and there was no one squatting in the house. While there, we saw two cats sitting in the back yard. These were two of the best fed cats I’ve seen for a while (save at home). Both black & white, both HUGE, with gleaming coats. Supposedly there are stray black & white cats in our neighborhood, but these have to be the most well taken care of strays I’ve ever seen. However, when we saw them, it was a very Secret Garden type of scene – one in the garden and one on the fence post. Both caught in the sun – truly beautiful!

We were trying to find our copy of the first season of The West Wing which we finally decided my mother has hidden away somewhere safe as she watches it, and we got to talking about movies we had just seen. Somehow or other we got to Judy Dench in Mrs. Henderson Presents … (which Helen and I loved) and from there we jumped to Tea with Mussolini and before you knew it, we were back at our house settling in for a cozy afternoon of movies. We started with the aforementioned TWM which was even better than I remembered. Those English Dames sure know how to carry a movie! Even Cher was good in this one, but I can see how she would be intimidated every time she walked on set. (I read that in an article about the movie … I didn’t just make it up:) ) Then we jumped to Ladies in Lavender which we had gotten from NetFlicks. I had never heard of it before but it had Judy Dench and Maggie Smith and took place on the Cornwall Coast so really, how bad could it be? Not too bad it turns out, but a little odd. And definitely not one I’ll go out and buy for my own collection. But it was a wonderful way to spend an afternoon!

And today, there’s the big game. I’m not a huge football fan – I can follow the game and I enjoy the Superbowl ads, and I run the office Superbowl pool, but other than than … not so much. My dad grew up in Wisconsin and has loved the Green Bay Packers always. When he first moved to NY, everyone in his office (including my mother) thought he was a rube because he was willing to bet on the Packers in the 1962 Green Bay/Giants game. She was just telling us that that was when she first really noticed him – that he would stand up to all the jesting about his Packers and how different it was the following Monday when he went around collecting all his winnings:) Anyway, Green Bay has a chance to go to the Super Bowl again for the first time in 10 years, if they can get past the Giants. My dad has not been this excited about a game for YEARS! And brother #5, who shares not only his name but his passion for this team, may very likely already be in Green Bay, with his dog … Lambeau. If he isn’t he will be watching the game in High Def, surrounded by buddies, screaming his guts out and wishing he was there. Here is one of the things I don’t understand about football. The starting temperature at game time is supposed to be -13. THAT’S A MINUS PEOPLE!!!! I would be …. I was starting to say comatose, but that would never happen. I doubt I’d go out in that kind of weather to save my life, let alone for sport! I just don’t get this – freezing your ass off to watch a game. One of the best things about baseball is it happens during the spring and summer – two of the best seasons! There’s sunshine! There’s warmth! There’s NO frostbite and the definite possibility of losing some digits! And since I don’t drink, I don’t even have alcohol to make me think I’m warmer than I really am. So, unlike brother #5, I will not be wishing desperately that I could be at that game. I will however, be watching at least part of it (from the warmth of my lovely house). I will be hoping & praying that the Packers get through so Dad can see them go to the Superbowl to go up against the demi-gods that are the undefeated New England Patriots. But that nail biter will not be for two weeks.

4 Responses to “GO GREEN BAY!!!”

  1. Hey Teach! Says:

    I know we didn’t talk about our posts before we each wrote them, but I’m not sure anyone else would believe it! The only difference is I call him Brother No 2 instead of No 5.

  2. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    Sounds like a wonderful afternoon cuddled up with my favorite kind of movies!I’ll pass on the football:)

  3. amanda Says:

    I agree with helen- brother number 5 sounds like we have 5 brothers…..

  4. ewe are here Says:

    I think I rather enjoyed Ladies in Lavender, a nice quiet little movie.

Leave a Reply

