PERSONAL SPACE

I have a pet peeve – since when did my personal space become so small, that strangers are closer to me than my loved ones? I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been in the store, waiting patiently in line, to have the person behind me be so close, I can feel their heart beating? If I turn around too quickly, I’m taking out an eye! I make sure I keep my cart (because, let’s be serious, I never get out of the store with less than a cart load) between me and the person in front of me. AND I make sure I don’t get so close that I’m bumping my cart into their backs. A) I feel it’s impolite to be right on top of them, and 2) I don’t like people – why would I want to subject myself to all that closeness?

I’m reading Talk to the Hand by Lynn Truss. It’s all about The Utter Bloody Rudeness of the World Today, or Six Good Reasons to Stay Home and Bolt the Door, and one passage struck home. She says “What I would really appreciate is a kind of negative polarity I could switch on in personal-space emergencies; in fact, now I think of it, is there any lovelier, more comforting four-word combination than ‘Activate the force field’?” I’ve got to get me one of those! I’d love to be able to hit a switch and have the boor behind me – who can now read the numbers on my debit card, let alone the password I’m typing in – be blasted to the other end of the store. What a feeling of satisfaction that would give:)

The only ones I want getting that close (other than family and loved ones, natch) are my cats. But I read that cats mark their personal property by rubbing the side of their mouth against the *whatever it is* to leave their scent, along with some of their saliva. Great – I’ve worn the spit of countless cats.

Thank you for letting me get that off my chest. Now, I have nothing to get in the way when I go cozy up to some stranger in the supermarket.

5 Responses to “PERSONAL SPACE”

  1. Smileygirl Says:

    all about what? Now I’m curious!!(your comment on the “poo post” totally cracked me up.)

  2. Hey Teach! Says:

    I now have a new plan for when that annoying person bumps me with their cart. I will be a cat and mark my space. Will you come bail me out of jail??

  3. the dragonfly Says:

    Even my cats get a little too close sometimes. Like right now, Éowyn is kneading my stomach, and moving towards my chest, dangerously close to uncomfortable places!!

  4. tlawwife Says:

    My daughter says her space is sometimes about a foot and sometimes a room. She judges her friends by who knows how much when and if they leave the room if it is that much. Imagine living in Hong Kong where there is no personal space available. Shudder.

  5. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    Love this post! Sometimes I think that’s the enchantment of blogging..getting to know interesting people while remaining physically isolated! I was an only-lonely kid and I need my SPACE big time. Maybe you could turn around, give the evil eye to the person crowding you and just say,in a low steely voice, “Ya know, I’m covered in cat spit..”Although I don’t have a cat, I may try it myself:)

Leave a Reply

