ONCE UPON A TIME….

The storyteller got himself comfortable and began to tell his story. “As with all good stories, this one begins Once Upon A Time. Once there was a group of people on a flight from Sydney, Australia to Los Angeles. In mid-flight, something happened and the plane crashed near an island. The front part landed near one part of the island while the tail part ended up on the other side. Now the people from the front part of the plane didn’t know the ones in the back had survived and vice versa. So each group started building camps and going about trying to get themselves rescued. And they soon learned they were not alone on this island – there were people from previous crashes/shipwrecks/accidents also living on the island and this group was not very happy about sharing their island with the newcomers. And they showed their displeasure in very unpleasant ways.

One day the people from the front part of the plane found a hatch deep in the ground that they foolishly decided to open and explore. Inside they found food, weapons, and a crazy man named Desmond who quickly ran away when they appeared. They also found a button that needed to be pushed every 108 minutes.

After nearly two months apart, the two groups from the plane crash found each other and, after a tragic accident, learned to live together in harmony.”

“But what happens next?” asked one girl.

“And what do the numbers 4, 8 , 15, 16, 23 and 42 mean?” asked the second girl.

“And what do the tattoos on Jack’s arms mean?” asked the first.

“And how the HELL did a polar bear get to be on an island in the middle of the Pacific?” asked the second.

“I DON’T KNOW!!” screamed the storyteller in frustration. “I’m half-way through the second season of Lost and I still have 1 1/2 seasons to watch before the beginning of season 4 on Thursday.”

As you can see, we’ve been suckered into watching the TV show Lost and frustration doesn’t even begin to come close to describing how I feel about ALL the questions I have yet to be answered. God help me if they take this show off the air before they answer them all. I may go mad!

There’s no way we’re getting through it all before Thursday. Thank god for TIVO🙂

This post has been brought to you by the channel ABC and the aspirin Advil (for my screaming headache as I try to make sense of it all). Also by Monday Mission, this week in the form of a children’s story. Head on over to Painted Maypole to see all the other suckers who fell for this!

4 Responses to “ONCE UPON A TIME….”

  1. the dragonfly Says:

    Ha! I love it. I don’t have to “catch up”…but I’m trying to re-watch the first three seasons before season four starts. I just watched the season two finale today…do you think I can make it? 😉

  2. painted maypole Says:

    ha ha ha. i’ve been watching this since the beginning, and I hear you!

  3. ewe are here Says:

    I haven’t seen it since SEason 2 because we DIDN’T HAVE DIGITAL AT OUR LAST PLACE! Arrrrggghhhh!

  4. Chrissy Says:

    So funny. I ‘quit’ watching in season 2 because I couldn’t stand not understanding what the heck was going on, but my husband kept watching, so I lurked in the background for a while and got sucked back in. If it helps at all, I watched all of last season and I still don’t understand what is going on.

Leave a Reply

