DAY 2 1/2 …

Sorry about the last post – I did it from the lobby of the hotel we were in – on the computer they provided. You were regulated to 10 minutes and the thing just shut off in mid upload – I’m glad as much got through as it did. The end of the sentence was I can’t wait to get out of this damned vehicle! (nothing witty, but I was still 3/4 of the way asleep).

There are three of us on this little adventure – my mom and Helen and moi! Sister #3 had to work and wasn’t allowed to come. This all started Wednesday, when my mother sent us a picture in the mail. Then she called on Thursday and said “I need to do this – will you come?” What do you say? So I arranged for Monday and possibly Tuesday off from work (if needed) and we decided to leave Friday night because I had to be there during the day.

Yesterday, we finally got going at 7:45 AM after getting food for us and coffee for my mother. At 8:04 AM we entered Virginia. At 8:05 AM we entered West Virginia. This time, I’m not kidding – we were in VA for a minute. It’s up at the top where VA goes into a point – sneeze and you’re through. But not to worry VA fans, we hooked through W VA for about 20 minutes and then came back to VA for quite a bit. At 12:30 we entered Tennessee and never came out again. We took the diagonal approach – from the north-eastern corner to the south-western one. DAMN! Tennessee is deceptive. It took us almost 9 hours to cross the state and we didn’t go off on little jaunts or stop for anything other than gas and bathrooms. However, at about 9:30 we crossed into Arkansas (that’s 8:30 local time but for reasons of tracking time, I’m sticking to EST). Arkansas is our destination state – we are less that 5 minutes away from what we came for. Hopefully later today (or tomorrow morning I will be able to post a picture).

Til then, I have one very excited mother who is waiting impatiently for me to finish.

Oh yeah, and the thought of doing this marathon drive in reverse. YAY!

5 Responses to “DAY 2 1/2 …”

  1. Family Adventure Says:

    I think it’s awesome that you were able to drop everything and just go. What an adventure! Your poor sister # 3 must be bummed!Drive safe…and keep posting!Heidi

  2. the dragonfly Says:

    Yes, Tennessee takes forever to cross. 🙂Sounds like you’re having fun…..can’t wait to hear more!

  3. painted maypole Says:

    arkansas???? what the dillio is in Arkansas??? I am flumoxed.

  4. KBL 2 ORD 2 SAN Says:

    i love tennessee and kentucky. two of my favorite states! Yay!can’t wait to read more…this is like a really good ‘whodunit’ novel!

  5. tlawwife Says:

    Is there going to be an Elvis picture in your future? Your accounting takes me back to riding in the truck with hubby.

Leave a Reply

