WATER FOR ELEPHANTS

When we got back from our Dickon Trip, we had over 100 things to pack from our store Hey Teach, and get out to the post office as soon as possible. Luckily, I took Tuesday off so Helen had some help. Most of the things we’re mailing out now are Dr. Seuss items, with teachers and parents getting ready for Read Across America.


This took all day (and part of the night.) Which means there was no time to read my book. I brought the book along with me on the trip but I can’t read in the car without vomiting and, by the time we stopped for the night, I barely made it to the bed before collapsing. You know when you reach the point in a great book where you can’t stop? You have to keep reading even though you can barely keep your eyes open? Yep, I had gotten to that point. But I was very good and did not go off and read, leaving all the store stuff to Helen. Rather, I waited til I went to bed. Which means I didn’t get to sleep til almost 2 AM. What I am getting to in a very round about way, is that this book is FANTASTIC! I got it for Helen for her birthday because she loves elephants and I was pretty sure I had seen it on the NY Times best seller list. So I figured it was worth a try. When Helen read it in 3 days, I knew it HAD to be good because she likes to take her time with books. It was better than good! Sara Gruen takes some legends from circus lore and weaves a heart-wrenching story around them. And there’s a really, really good elephant:)
So if you haven’t read the book yet, what are you waiting for? Go get it already! Sheesh! πŸ™‚ Yes it is that good…

6 Responses to “WATER FOR ELEPHANTS”

  1. Ms. Huis Herself Says:

    Well, with a recommendation like that I just popped on to my local library’s webpage and put it on hold. Looking forward to it!

  2. Family Adventure Says:

    Oh wow…it sounds GOOD. I love can’t-put-me-down-books. Thanks for the recommendation.

  3. the dragonfly Says:

    I just found out there’s a used bookstore on one of the air force bases nearby. Woo hoo! I’ll have to look for that one.(And very good of you to not skip out on work to read!)πŸ˜‰

  4. Bec and Call Says:

    Does sound irresistible – pretty sure I’ve seen it with a different cover in our work library. will check it out, thx MB.

  5. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    This is my absolute favorite read for any book in 2007:) Like you, I couldn’t put it down, and it haunts me still!

  6. Kate Says:

    I am always on a look out for good books, I LOVE to read although it is normally a school holiday activity! Thanks i’ll hunt it down… i also love the look of your webpage Hey Teach! As a teacher i will def be checking it out.

Leave a Reply

