ODDS AND ENDS

Here are some more signs that Spring is definitely near!

The daffodil has bloomed and others are on their way. You can see the bloom (if you can get around the big, black head in the way – one of our undernourished and pitiful cats). This was taken around 7:30 AM before the sun fully hit them so it has opened even more by now.

One of the newest sets of patrons to visit the Riverside Cafe (also known as Chez G at Helen’s blog – go see her pictures – she has a much better camera and she’s posted some beautiful shots). The ducks came last spring also. We’re really hoping for some ducklings this year – last year we saw two couples with three babies but not until almost fall. The mallard is such a gentleman …. he is constantly watching out for her. He sometimes stands guard while she eats. Last summer, we saw him on his own and were terrified that something happened to her because you rarely see them apart.


Doesn’t it look like he’s pecking her here? But he’s really not:)
On a side note, we watched The Painted Veil last night (after having if from Netflix for over a month – thank god they don’t charge by the day!) Edward Norton and Naomi Watts were very good but it wasn’t my type of movie. I was going to say I don’t like period pieces but I really do so it wasn’t that. Their accents bothered me a lot. Two Americans (Norton and Liev Schreiber) and an Aussie trying to do British accents – I’d have preferred it if they stuck with their own. It would have been less distracting – catch the slipping accent! At the end, all I could say was eh (shrug shoulders). Not awful, but not watching it again.

On the book front, I’m in the middle of The Shadow of the Lion by Eric Flint, Mercedes Lackey, and Dave Freer. It involves politics, intrigue, a couple of love stories and a touch of magic set in 16th century Venice. It took a while to get completely into it but now, it’s difficult to drag me away. With this, The Book Thief which I have on my list for next, and all the Donna Leon books I’ve read recently – I think I NEED a trip to Venice soon!

6 Responses to “ODDS AND ENDS”

  1. the dragonfly Says:

    <>The Book Thief<> is my second favorite book of all time. It might someday pass <>The Giver<> for first…that shows you how much I loved it!! And it passed the test: it was as good to re-read as it was to read.Okay, enough with the rambling. Love the pictures! I’m so happy spring is here!! Hope we have good weather the next few days…we’re (hopefully) going to Antwerp!!!!

  2. Family Adventure Says:

    We ALL need a trip to Venice 🙂I loved the Painted Veil, but I think I loved it most for the scenery – it was stunning. Not so sure about the accents, either.Enjoy the spring 🙂Heidi

  3. Hey Teach! Says:

    Big black head? I guess the true nickname for him is not polite enough for your blog.

  4. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    Love the kitty contemplating the outside world. He makes me think of someone in a balcony seat at the theater watching the ongoing play of assorted visitors!Haven’t seen the painted veil, but I think the quality of movies is slipping to an all time low (There I said it and I’m glad).I’m checking the library for The Book Theif. You were so right about Josephine Tey:)

  5. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    thief i before e except…

  6. KBL 2 ORD 2 SAN Says:

    I just LOVE Helen’s pictures!

Leave a Reply

