Historical Reading Challenge – The Daughter of Time

***Updated to add list of books I’m reading
In wandering through blogs, I found a list of reading challenges that started anywhere between January 1 and April 1, 2008. This one is the Historical Reading Challenge, which , to be honest caught my eye, because of the choice of buttons that you add to your sidebar. For those of you who don’t know him, that’s Jonathan Rhys Meyers as King Henry VIII, in Showtime’s version of The Tudors. Yeah, he’d catch my eye just about anywhere. Add to that the fact that I love reading anything, including historical fiction, and I’m golden. These are the directions from the Reading, Writing and Ranting blog

There is only one rule to the challenge: 1) You must commit to reading 6 historical novels over 6 months.As this is a challenge, not a competition, satisfaction and a bigger brain will be your greatest reward! This is to encourage us all to have fun learning about history. I expect that if you’ve read a great author, you’ll be inspired to hit Wikipedia up and learn a little more too. I don’t mind if you end up reading a series about mostly fictional characters either. You won’t find any literary snobs here.

The first book I read for this challenge (and since I just finished it less than two weeks ago, the timing is perfect) is The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey. This is one of my favorite Tey novels. It starts off with her Scotland Yard Inspector, Alan Grant, bedridden due to a broken leg and hurt back. His friends bring him current best sellers but, not being the best of patients, he doesn’t want to read any of them. Then someone brings him a set of pictures of famous criminals and victims and he gets intrigued by one who looks like he should be a judge rather than a murderer. The picture is of Richard, Duke of Gloucester, later to become Richard III, whose claim to fame was allegedly killing his two nephews, the Princes in the Tower. Grant can’t believe that such a face could belong to a mass murderer and he sets out to debunk the myth.

This is an amazing story. I got so caught up in it during one of my lunch breaks, they had to drag me back to work kicking and screaming. The version I read, Scribner Paperback Fiction, also has a genealogical chart in the front of the book. This is very helpful because there are a ton of Edwards, Johns, Richards, & Henrys running around at the time and it can get very confusing after a while.

Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey (see above)
A Rose for the Crown by Anne Easter Smith reviewed here
The Queen’s Fool by Philippa Gregory reviewed here
The Virgin’s Lover by Philippa Gregory briefly reviewed here
Daughter of York by Anne Easter Smith
Lady of the Roses by Sandra Worth reviewed here
Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett reviewed here
7 Responses to “Historical Reading Challenge – The Daughter of Time”

  1. Marg Says:

    I really enjoyed this book when I read it! Sharon Kay Penman kicked off a fascination for Richard III in me, and this book was definitely a worth read about him.

  2. Beck Says:

    OH! I LOVE Josephine Tey!

  3. Family Adventure Says:

    Thanks for the write up…I need more book suggestions 🙂Heidi

  4. Annie Says:

    Mary Beth, thanks for joining the challenge! I’m glad you liked the buttons…I haven’t had any complaints yet. The Daughter of Time sounds like a great read. I have a Sharon Kay Penman sitting here about Richard III. He’s a historical can of worms I can’t wait to open!If you want to join our challenge yahoo group to chat then send me an email at anniebucknall at hotmail dot com and I’ll email you an invite.

  5. painted maypole Says:

    oooh.. it does sound good.and Jonathan Rhys Myers? hot, indeed, but The Tudor’s series is not particularly historically correct. Says my husband, the history geek.

  6. Mary Beth Says:

    Seriously PM – who’s watching for the history? 🙂

  7. Alpha DogMa Says:

    Ooh. I like that challenge. And the eye candy. I think I’m gonna play long. Will JRM come play in my side bar?

Leave a Reply

