It’s Derby Day!

Today is the Kentucky Derby. We have family here because we have the cool TV (LCD High Def – Oh Yeah baby!) We’ve picked our horses and placed our bets – $1 per horse – we’re high rollers here! We used to go to my grandparent’s house where the grown-ups had mint juleps and my grandmother had minced ham for everyone. Now the crowd is smaller but we still look forward to this day every year. My horses are #1, #4, #11 & #15 – no one below 20 to 1 odds so I’m not expecting anything.
They’re entering the gates now, and … I didn’t win. But Cool Coal Man (#1) was in the top 5 for most of the race, until Big Brown decided to make his move, so I had someone to cheer on.
Unfortunately, the filly Eight Belles, after coming in 2nd, broke both her front ankles and had to be put down. This is so sad 😦
One Response to “It’s Derby Day!”

  1. Hey Teach! Says:

    BIG BROWN BABY!!! Whatever will I do with my ill gotten gains?

Leave a Reply

