THE SEEKER: The Dark is Rising

I love the Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper. Have for quite a while now. I re-read them periodically – they are some of my comfort books – slightly broken in, covers beginning to show the wear and tear of time, pages with smudges (probably chocolate), and stories that I know will cheer me up. The never ending story of Light vs. Dark, Good vs. Evil, but a little more current than King Arthur. I was so excited when I started seeing mentions of a movie, and when I saw the preview, I nearly fell out of my seat. For one reason or another, I didn’t get to see it in the movie theaters, but I knew it was coming to video so it wasn’t that big of a deal. I finally saw the movie last night. THANK GOD I didn’t pay full price. This movie was horrible.

BEWARE – SPOILER ALERT – DURING THIS RANT I GIVE AWAY PARTS OF THE MOVIE AND IF YOU PLAN TO WATCH IT, STOP READING.

The kid they had playing Will was a little stiff, but he’s a kid and not every child actor can be what’s her name? The one from I Am Sam and Charlotte’s Web? Dakota Fanning. That one. Back to my point – not everyone is natural and relaxed in front of the camera. So I’ll let him slide, although he is the main part of the movie. The fact that they made Merriman Lyon almost a side character and had the movie character not understand boys, although he’s been raising them for centuries? That baffled me. Then there was the problem of the seventh son in the family. Will is supposed to be the seventh son of a seventh son but he only has five brothers. In the books, one of Will’s brothers dies in infancy. This is a horrible, horrible event, but it happens. It is something we fight to prevent, and mourn grievously when it does occur, but then we either get over it or not and, regardless, life continues. And unfortunately, it is something that way too many people can relate to. To take that and change it for the movie, to me, belittles the movie-goer, and infuriates me as one who read the books first. First they make the son Will’s twin (when he’s supposed to be the oldest rather than the youngest) and they have him kidnapped at 2 weeks old (and held for 14 years) and then there’s the grand reunion at the end of the movie – bleah! AND what happened to Barbara and Mary? Two of his sisters conveniently not even a part of the movie? Why???? Why couldn’t they leave the story alone? Why change it? It was perfect the way it was written. And, I might add, it could have been turned into a fantastic movie the way it was written. There didn’t need to be changes. AUGHH! Now I’m pissed off all over again and I have to go get cheery for my mother.

One Response to “THE SEEKER: The Dark is Rising”

  1. Hey Teach! Says:

    As I said after it was over…there’s two hours i will never get back

Leave a Reply

