WARNING! SENSORY OVERLOAD!!!

Caution: Visiting this place may cause sensory overload.

The blue of the sky shimmering …


The sound of the waves crashing and the seagulls calling ….

The feel of the sand beneath my toes and, most importantly, the sun on my skin….

The taste of good food enjoyed over long, relaxing dinners…..

My chair is ready for me, a table beside for my book and my drink (the same kind of tree man table that shows up in my dust bunny post). Yes, we’ve opened the beach house. This is what my family does on Memorial Day weekend – open the shutters (figuratively) and air out the house. Weekends from now until Thanksgiving, you’ll find us here.

Family and pets are abundant. Our cats stayed at home because they really do not like travelling. But the gents are there and the birds. And this weekend we added a new addition to the family …

Meet Dudley. My mother found him in her garden. The vet thinks he’s about 9 or 10 days old, abandoned by his mother – either left behind by mistake or because there is something wrong. We Helen is playing nursemaid to him, feeding him and caring for him. She gets up every 4 hours, including at 3:30 AM. She is trying to get him to use a baby bottle and, if he won’t take that, feeding him by syringe. She has to stimulate him into going to the bathroom because he’s too young to do it himself. We are trying not to get too attached because the odds are against him surviving without his mother, but every 24 hours he continues to grow, the odds get better and better.

This has been another edition of Monday Mission. To read more, head on over to Painted Maypole.

6 Responses to “WARNING! SENSORY OVERLOAD!!!”

  1. painted maypole Says:

    seems like just the right kind of sensory overload – the kind that leads to a nice, refreshing nap. gorgeous!

  2. Family Adventure Says:

    Oooh…I hope he does OK. Hang in there, little buddy.Heidi

  3. Hey Teach! Says:

    36 hours and counting and he is getting more comfortable and vocal with each feeding

  4. KBL 2 ORD 2 SAN Says:

    I love this post. What a fabulous family tradition. I laughed OUT LOUD seeing Dickon sitting up on his haunches. He looks so confused, “Huh? What’s this?” I want to squish and kiss his face!!!I don’t know if I missed it, but is Dudley a kitten or a puppy? I can’t tell in the pictures. I’ll be praying for the little guy. You guys are the best!You know, as much as I love San Diego, I always experience nostalgia when I see your pictures and posts. Some of my favorite memories from my 20s are when I was in New Jersey…Red Bank, jazz & blues clubs, Eatontown, Sandy Hook, Cape May, windsurfing, all the wonderful little farms….it was great. Keep the pics coming! Helen, you are a angel for caring for Dudley. Lucky guy. 🙂

  5. Smileygirl Says:

    Oh my gosh Dudley is soooo precious! Seems like he’s getting stronger each day. It’s got to be so hard not to get attached but the love he’s getting is definitely helping his survival!

  6. the dragonfly Says:

    Awww…sweet little kitty. Hope he beats the odds.And the beach house looks great!

Leave a Reply

