CHIRPING

Last night was a late night – as Saturdays during the summer are want to be – long, leisurely dinners, cleaning up after 4 parrots, walking the dog afterwards. All-in-all, I didn’t get to sleep until 12:30-1:00 AM. Then, I was awakened at 4:30 by an electronic chirping. Having had it happen before, my thoughts immediately went to the smoke detector. You know the sound they make when their batteries are dying?

I went looking for the step ladder because people INSIST on putting the detectors on the ceilings, which are way above my head. I determined it was in the living room with Dickon, whom I was trying very hard NOT to wake up, as he would then wake the rest of the house.

So I got a chair from the kitchen, without waking Morgun,

a slightly easier task, because he’s blind, 1/2 deaf, etc. I carried the chair into my room, got down the smoke detector, took out the battery, and tried to go back to sleep. The chirping continued so I crept back into the kitchen and miraculously found a 9 volt battery. I replaced the battery in the detector, got all the wires back into the ceiling, and managed to get the detector back on it’s very small hooks. Again, I tried to go back to sleep. The damn chirping continued!

It turns out my cell phone battery was dying and the chirping I hear was the death-rattle. Did I mention I don’t think well on less than 4 hours sleep?

3 Responses to “CHIRPING”

  1. Hey Teach! Says:

    too bad you weren’t home where king mouser would help you…

  2. the dragonfly Says:

    It always seems to go that way when we’re half asleep. I’ve done similar things, checked everything but the cell phone it actually was. 🙂

  3. Alpha DogMa Says:

    HAHAHA!We spent $3000 on a new furnace because the old made a horrible racket. To our horror the new one was equally loud. Turns out the cold air intake grill was loose and the sound we could hear was the high frequency hum of the grill vibrating. THREE THOUSAND DOLLARS! All because of we had a loose screw. Yeesh.

Leave a Reply

