TWITTER ETIQUETTE

Do you Twitter? I just started and am quickly becoming addicted. I need (does that have enough whine in it?) to get an iPhone so I can check and post when I leave my computer at work at night. I’m slowly picking up a following. But I have some questions on twitter etiquette.

When you find someone you want to follow, do you just reply to their tweets until they get to know you? Or do you wait to be properly introduced? Is it rude to just leave comments? Do you just look at these interlopers and sigh and think that they’re taking up space on your page?

Do you investigate new followers as they show up? Since I have only 13 16 followers, it’s easy to keep track. But for those of you that have lots and lots, do you check each one? And do you keep the ones that are just there to promote their own work? I keep getting ones that only have one tweet to check out a website.

So my question is …. Is there a protocol to follow on Twitter? Is it everyman for themselves? And if there are people I follow that I want to follow me, can I leave them an @….. message to come check out this blog? And if that’s okay, they’ll know exactly who they are cause I’ll be leaving them the @…. message but then, I just really want to be part of the group and I’ll do anything to join.

Come follow me on Twitter – I’m not a stalker – really. Just click the button on the side bar – it’s really easy!

10 Responses to “TWITTER ETIQUETTE”

  1. noble pig Says:

    I have remained Twitterless for fear of yet another electronic device addiction.

  2. Backpacking Dad Says:

    I think you can follow whomever you want, and reply directly to them, and if they’re like me they check that “replies” tab often enough to see your tweet to them even if they aren’t following you back. I don’t know about tweets that say “check out my blog”. When I see a new follower I usually do click over to their twitter page and then onto their blog. But maybe that’s just me.

  3. jennifer, playgroups are no place for children Says:

    These are excellent questions about twitter! I answered in MY comments section.If you’re looking for more people to follow, based on people your twitter friends are already following, check out this link:http://www.crazybob.org/twubble/

  4. Mike Says:

    I’m not sure exactly how Twitter works either although I do it. I think the fact I am a tad lost in the world of Twitter is a sign I am officially getting old.

  5. Kellan Says:

    I have a Twitter account, but have yet to really use it as I am a bit clueless as to what it is really all about. I just haven’t had to time to invest in figuring it out. Sorry I can’t help answer any of your questions.Thanks for stopping by my site today – very nice to meet you. I hope to see you again soon. Take care – Kellan

  6. catnip Says:

    Hello my twitter friend! I can tell you that those followers with only one tweet who are following many people are spammers. They’re trying to get you to click the link so they can make $. Block them! Also spammers – any one who tweets in multiple languages. They are scraping other people’s tweets.Just follow whoever you like, talk to whoever you like. Some will respond, some won’t.I always check out my followers, block the spammers, and then go look at blogs/websites. If they are clearly real people I follow back. If I’m not sure, I just let them follow.You’ll get the hang of it, I promise 🙂

  7. heather Says:

    When I get a notice that someone new is following me, I click over to their twiter page. If they are a normal person, I follow them back and get to know them. If they’re a spam bot, I just delete them. I have twitter on my blackberry…I’m so hopelessly addicted it’s not even funny.

  8. Beck Says:

    I dunno? I have a Twitter account, which I half-heartedly comment on – but I don’t get it. Not one bit.

  9. Krysta Says:

    I’m with all the people who don’t get twitter, I’m starting to feel old.

  10. Helen/Dudley Says:

    We’re going to stage an intervention…

Leave a Reply

