POTATOES AND ROSEMARY, LIVING TOGETHER IN HARMONY

I am proud to be part of the latest rage spreading across the country – the Potato Ho’s. What is a Potato Ho you ask? Anyone who is obsessed with potatoes fits the bill. The lovely ladies from Noble Pig and Evil Chef Mom have joined forces to publish a Potato Ho-Down once a month, on the third Wednesday of the month. Everyone is invited to partake in the Ho-Down – just head on over here to see all the entries. My favorite dish in the WORLD is mashed potatoes. You don’t have to do anything to them – straight up with butter, thank you very much. I could eat them for every meal and think that I have now died and gone to heaven. I’m also 500 pounds. But it’s worth every pound, dammit!!! (No I’m not really 500 pounds and I don’t eat potatoes every meal. Sheesh, don’t be so literal!) However, for this first Ho-Down, I went a little more figure friendly.

Roasted red potatoes with rosemary -doesn’t that have a lovely ring to it? So easy to make and so, so yummy to eat. Here’s all you need for these lovely morsels. Meet the Potato family. To the left is the oh, so slimming Olive Oil and to the right you’ll see the fragrant Ms. Rosemary.

I used a 5 pound bag of baby red potatoes for 5 people and we had plenty of leftovers to snack on the next day. For the best taste, use fresh herbs. If you have a mother like mine who likes to plant herbs, run outside and grab a branch of fresh rosemary. Otherwise pick up some from your local store.

After rinsing your potatoes, cut them into bite size pieces and put them back in the bowl.

Strip the rosemary from the sprig.

Add mad knife skills …

and voila! Finely chopped herbs ready to sprinkle on the potatoes.

Drizzle some Olive Oil over the potatoes and rosemary (I prefer Extra Virgin Olive Oil, but I was cooking at my parents here so I used what they had available.)

Add a little salt and freshly ground black pepper. Now just mix together. Go on, get your hands dirty! I promise it all washes off.

Lay the potato darlings out in a single layer in a baking dish. This one is a 9×12 stoneware pan (missing one handle from when we dropped it on the beautiful marble floor that breaks EVERYTHING!) Now really, how easy was that??

Put them in a 375 degree oven for 1/2 hour. Since I was at my parents, I used their AGA and cooking times are different because there is no direct flame. Here it took almost an hour for the potatoes to be fully cooked. However, in a traditional oven, it should take closer to half-3/4 of an hour. I start checking after 30 minutes.

See, they’re starting to cook up nicely. I stir everything up so all sides can get brown.

And the final product? Pure perfection! I sprinkle a little more salt right after I take them out of the oven. I was going to take a picture of the final presentation but there were hands and spoons attacking the bowl and I didn’t want to film the feeding frenzy. Really, your family will love these:)

Cicero Bethell’s Roasted Red Potatoes with Rosemary

5 lb of small red potatoes (feeds 6-9 people)
Large sprig of rosemary, about 2-3 TBS chopped
Olive Oil, about 3 TBS
Salt & Pepper to taste
Preheat oven to 375.

Cut potatoes into bite size chunks. Finely chop the rosemary and sprinkle over potatoes. Drizzle olive oil over potatoes and rosemary. Add salt & pepper to taste. Mix everything together in the bowl, then spread potatoes out in a 9×12 baking dish in a single layer. Bake in a 375 degree oven for 30 to 45 minutes. Start checking at 1/2 hour mark – you are looking for a light browning of the potatoes. Mix them up in the pan so the other sides can get some loving from the stove and put back in for a few minutes while you set the table, etc. I add a sprinkling of salt when I take them from the oven. Then serve. We had them with some grilled chicken and a salad and dinner was divine!
3 Responses to “POTATOES AND ROSEMARY, LIVING TOGETHER IN HARMONY”

  1. Helen/Dudley Says:

    As the official taste tester I can verify they are YUMMY!

  2. noble pig Says:

    Marybeth-Did you send this to me and I didn’t get for the round up? I never recieved an email from you with the entry information? Did you send one to me?

  3. Clumbsy Cookie Says:

    Potatos and rosemary are one of the best combinations ever! It looks great, I love anything with potatoes anyway!

Leave a Reply

