GLOOMY GUS GOES TO THE MOVIES

I feel like I’ve had some bad luck with the entertainment industry this summer. Movies just haven’t lived up to my expectations. I don’t think it’s a product of my mood when I’ve attended these venues because the people I’ve gone with have felt the same way (unless I have powers of bringing those around me down to my level that I don’t know about?)

I don’t get out to the movies that often – maybe once a month – but I love to go and I look forward to the movies a lot. So far this summer, I’ve seen one great movie (The Dark Knight which I loved) and two fairly awful ones — Indiana Jones and the Crystal Skull – they really should have stopped with the Last Crusade – and The Mummy III which was so bad, I walked out in the middle of it. I didn’t even write a review of the mummy movie because I was afraid that I would come across as this crotchety, ugly person who can’t even stay put through a movie. I’m not, really, but it angers me when the studios think it’s okay that we shell out $10 for drivel so they can make more money on a franchise that may have jumped the shark. And for all you Mummy fans out there – I loved the first two Mummy movies. I can come in at any point of the movies and get totally wrapped up and then look up to find that an hour has just disappeared from the day. I went into this one expecting the same charm and tongue in cheek humor. I thought the part before the opening credits was really good and I was excited about the rest. But when the best part about the rest of the movie was “The Yak yakked”, a horribly lame one-liner you could see coming from miles away, all the fun seemed to have deserted our movie theater.

However, I will not be put off my quest for a good movie. Tonight, we try Traitor. It has Don Cheadle, a favorite of mine, and Guy Pearce, who is always intense and always fantastic. So my hopes are high. This may be just what I need to get my entertainment psyche back in line. Keep your fingers crossed:D

And on a final note, can I just say I’m more than a little pissed that Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince has been postponed til next summer? Cause they want a summer blockbuster? I say, let’s go for a Turkey blockbuster! There’s nothing wrong with having a really big hit in November!

What about you? Have you been disappointed in any movies this summer? Or better yet, been pleasantly surprised by any?

3 Responses to “GLOOMY GUS GOES TO THE MOVIES”

  1. the dragonfly Says:

    I haven’t <>seen<> any movies this summer!Okay, that’s not exactly true. A friend and I took our kids to see <>Wall-E<>, which I liked way more than I expected to.The problem for me is that the people I’d want to go see a movie with are the same ones I’d ask to babysit! 🙂

  2. noble pig Says:

    Lots of movies come out at Thanksgiving…why not this one! I’m with you.

  3. Helen/Dudley Says:

    While it wasn’t at all what we expected Traitor was very good and may have turned out luck around…

Leave a Reply

