RIP READING CHALLENGE – BOOK THE SECOND

Today, the Wii went un-played, I did not enter the blogosphere, and I ignored my family. I mouthed pleasantries at breakfast and lunch and I tried to pay attention, I really did. But my mind was elsewhere. Today, my thoughts were in Forks, WA, the town Stephenie Meyer chose for her Twilight series.

Book 1 in the quartet, Twilight, introduces us to Bella, who’s just moving back to live with her father, the chief of police in Forks, and Edward, the impossibly beautiful adopted son of the mysterious and aloof Cullens. These two meet at school when they are thrown together as biology partners, and a relationship ensues. At first, Bella thinks he hates her to the point of trying to get out of her biology class entirely, although she soon learns that it’s a different emotion altogether that keeps his back turned to her and his fists clenched. Desire is a strong emotion to deny, and Edward desires her on several levels. As they become friends and more, she learns about his past, about his family, about his special circumstances. And she loves him anyway.

Part of what made this book a page turner for me was it felt real. Even though creatures of the undead are some of the main characters, Stephenie Meyer makes it believable, and I, for one, bought into it completely. I found myself with a silly smile on my face more than once (okay, a lot) while I was reading, and thinking that I want someone to look at me like that. Well, maybe not as hungrily, but you know what I mean. I started reading Twilight just before I went to bed Saturday night and finished it at 3:00 Sunday afternoon, at which point, I dragged Helen & Amanda to the bookstore to get the 2nd book. And by the end of this week, I’ll have #3 & 4. I loved this book so much, I literally, couldn’t put it down and it’s been a while since I got so lost in a book – I forgot how great it feels:)
6 Responses to “RIP READING CHALLENGE – BOOK THE SECOND”

  1. the dragonfly Says:

    I think you got it just right – these books, no matter how supernatural the characters, seem real. And Stephenie got just right the insanity that is a teenager in love. 🙂

  2. Helen/Dudley Says:

    You are a book hog to inhale it in 24 hours!

  3. xicanti Says:

    I agree with you about the book’s believability. I was really impressed with how Meyer managed to make Bella’s everyday life so interesting.Unfortunately, I felt like the books went downhill as the series progressed; however, I seem to be in the minority. I hope you enjoy them!

  4. noble pig Says:

    I’ve heard these are good, everyone’s talking about that series.

  5. sketched out Says:

    I haven’t read any of these books, but was absolutely enthralled with Anne Rice’s vampires, years ago, and since I was a kid loved all things undead. So, after your review, I’m thinking I better go get “Twilight.”Oh, and Happy Belated Birthday Blog, hee hee!

  6. Framed Says:

    I’ve enjoyed the whole series, but Twilight is far and away my favorite.

Leave a Reply

