RIP READING CHALLENGE – BOOK THE THIRD

Yesterday, I finished my third book for the RIP III Reading Challenge. Chocolate Chip Cooke Murder by Joanne Fluke was a “fluff read”, by which I mean a light, fun, easy book to read. There weren’t any highly-involved plot lines or myriads of characters to follow. There also wasn’t anyone who reached out and grabbed you and made sure you’d be thinking of them for a long time to come.

Hannah Swenson owns The Cookie Jar, and cookie and coffee shop, where the townsfolk come for treats and to share the local gossip. One day, Hannah finds the body of her dairy delivery man in her back alley, shot through the heart. Her brother in law is the deputy-sheriff assigned to look into the case and Hannah gets to indulge her love of detective work and help investigate the murder. During the course of the investigation, they find another body, and work their way through several suspects before discovering “whodunnit.” A perk to this book, and hopefully the others in the series, is the addition of cookie recipes scattered throughout the pages. Some of them look really good and I’m looking forward to trying them out. Overall, this series reminds me of the Death on Demand books by Carolyn Hart

As predicted, I finished books 3 & 4 of the Twilight Series last weekend. I loved the series as a whole, with the first, Twilight, being hands down my favorite. New Moon, the 2nd, was the weakest to my mind, but Eclipse, #3, and Breaking Dawn, #4, made up for it. For me, what ensnared me the most was the relationship between Edward and Bella and when he is gone, I wasn’t that enthralled. I love Jacob and enjoyed the way his character grew and I, for one, got such a kick out of how his fate is forever entwined with Bella’s. I’m so glad we had the snafu with the library and weren’t able to borrow these books, forcing us to buy them, because I see this as a series that I revisit periodically when I need an Edward fix, and it’s so nice to have them on hand when you need to read them NOW!

To wrap this up, let’s talk about the red-headed step child of my reading list – Dracula. Surprisingly enough, everyone was right and I am not scared reading this book. The writing, the antiquated style, all help to diffuse the fear of him scaling head first down the side of a building with a squirming sack in hand. However, I don’t like the book. I just don’t like it. Usually, I can’t wait for lunchtime when I get to retreat into my shell and read my good book, but recently, I’d rather read my “work” (god forbid) during my lunch hour. I wonder, do I hold to my standard requirements for reading a book I’m not that enamored with – mainly, give it 100 pages and if I’m still not that into it, stop and move on – or give it more time because it’s a classic and all and everyone should read it at least once before they die. Just so you know, I’m on page 95 so I’m not making this statement without at least giving it a chance. What do you think?
3 Responses to “RIP READING CHALLENGE – BOOK THE THIRD”

  1. DesLily Says:

    re: Dracula..I read the Bram Stoker version for the first time for RIP and found it boring. I did like the writing style and how it was presented in letters and journals etc.. but I did finish it.. I am way old enough to have seen the old old movies with Lugosia as Dracula and thought I would be at least spooked a little.. but I wasn’t.

  2. Helen/Dudley Says:

    Life’s too short, if you don’t like it after 95 pages, I say move on, you wimp. Oops did that slip out? I didn’t mean it 🙂

  3. Mike Says:

    If I don’t like a book I will stop reading it and move on. There are millions of books, no need to dwell on one!

Leave a Reply

