PHOTO 6 – Name that Bug

I have a love/hate relationship with bugs. They creep me out completely on the one hand and on the other, I’m kind of fascinated by them.

Like this one – it’s a walking stick insect that was chillin‘ on my car mirror one day. I’m driving out of the parking lot and see him hanging on for dear life. I’m proud to say I did not scream and step on the gas – No, I took pictures, then got him on a piece of paper and deposited him safely on the side of the lot.

This one, I ran into over the weekend. My gut instinct was to squash him like a bug (hee, hee) but I refrained and I’m glad I did. When my mom saw him, she said “Oh, it’s a grandfather bug!” I must have looked at her like she had three heads because she explained that I always called them grandfather bugs, after my grandfather. She had no idea why I did that – somehow or other I associated him with my grandfather. I don’t know what kind of insect he really is — if there’s someone out there in the blogosphere that can identify him, please let me know. I would have sworn that I’d never seen that kind of insect before but, obviously, I have.
One Response to “PHOTO 6 – Name that Bug”

  1. noble pig Says:

    I would have squashed them. But that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

