THIS AND THAT

Some quick thoughts/notes/updates – what have you…

I’ve finished a couple of books recently: The Horse and His Boy and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, both part of CS Lewis’ Chronicle of Narnia Series. I’m finding that I’m getting so much more out of them now as an adult, than when I read them as a child. I’m still loving the stories but now I’m seeing more of the “religious” aspect and seeing the lessons they subtly teach. The man was brilliant!

I found the Riftwar Saga by Raymond Feist through Catnip and Coffee’s blog. I finished the first, Magician Apprentice, on Monday and had to get the 2nd one right away. At Amanda’s birthday dinner, we were talking about books and about War and Peace (the one by Tolstoy), and some of the humdingers we’ve had to read for one class or another (The Grapes of Wrath and Catcher in the Rye) and I mentioned that I had just finished a book about elves and dwarves fighting battles. That stopped the conversation for a minute, I can tell you:)

I have seen The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith in bookstores for the past couple of years and always thought of picking it up but for some reason never did. Finally, I bowed to the pressure (Oh the pressure! of owning a popular book – it’s overwhelming) and I really enjoyed it. I thought it had an almost folk-telling tone to the narrative. I will be looking for more of Precious Ramotswe’s stories.

Our Etsy store continues to produce customers. We have sold lots of pumpkin (and a few bumble bee and lady bug) hats so much of my free time is spent knitting. I’ve even started taking hats into work to knit on my lunch hour which has gotten me some funny looks from my oh-so-masculine co-workers:)

Speaking of work, they are restructuring the office and the way work is done because important documents are not getting logged in properly and are getting lost in the shuffle. So there is some talk (and it’s just talk at this point) of having some of my responsibilities given to others and have me take a more active role in estimating side of the job. I’m not sure how I feel about this because some of the jobs they will be relieving me of are ones that I enjoy doing (some that I hate that would be going also) and there’s no guarantee that the new ones will be any better. I have to have trust in my boss and believe that he’s going to help me move forward in the company, which is what he’s done so far. I’m almost there – I need to learn more about what it is EXACTLY that I will be expected to do.


On a happy note, gas has fallen below $3 in the state of NJ and I’m at the beach looking out to a gorgeous blue sky and slightly choppy ocean. And I have pumpkin hats to knit. So let me leave you with one question … How did you feel about The Catcher in the Rye, if you read it. I hated it but almost everyone else I know loved it. What did you think?

3 Responses to “THIS AND THAT”

  1. noble pig Says:

    Below three bucks, that’s awesome..we’re still about 3.40 here…hoping it will change.

  2. Helen/Dudley Says:

    Not a huge fan of The Catcher…always thought it was overrated.

  3. painted maypole Says:

    i loved reading the Chronicles of Narnia as an adult.I’ve never read The Catcher in the Rye. How is that possible? It’s on my list of “classics I must read someday” (I’ve gotten to a few of them this year, like To Kill and Mockingbird and Emma)

Leave a Reply

