Booking Through Thursday – Coupling

This week’s Booking Through Thursday theme is coupling. The challenge is to:

“Name a favorite literary couple and tell me why they are a favorite. If you cannot choose just one, that is okay too. Name as many as you like–sometimes narrowing down a list can be extremely difficult and painful. Or maybe that’s just me.”

This is really hard because I’ve read so many really good books, but there isn’t always a great couple in them, or else the book ends just as they become a couple so you don’t know if it’s going to work out.

I always loved Jo and Professor Bhaer from Little Men by Louisa May Alcott because I always saw them as equals in every aspect of the relationship;

Elfrida and Oscar from Winter Solstice by Rosamunde Pilcher – the last chapter of this book brings me to racking sobs every time I read it, but it shows that you can find love at any age;

and Thomas and Tuppence from Agatha Christie because they always seem to have so much fun together.

I just finished the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer and Edward and Bella jumped to mind but I’m not sure I want to be so wrapped up in another person that I become almost incapacitated if they leave.

I’m sure I’ll read some other entries and experience a few “duh” moments, but these were what first popped into my head.

9 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Coupling”

  1. Beth F Says:

    Oh, of course, Thomas and Tuppence are a great literary couple. Good choice!

  2. Audrey Says:

    Sweet little hats! But speaking of ‘duh’ moments, you are completely right about St. James and Deborah, and at least EG hasn’t killed them yet (it was one of her best books, but I hated that).I loved Winter Solstice too!(I have a soft spot for Rosamunde Pilcher’s books).Audrey

  3. Smilingsal Says:

    You mention some I’ve not read. I have a different one.

  4. tuesday Says:

    Hahah, I stil think Jo and Bhaer make a nice couple, but I couldn’t really put them on my list after writing ‘Jo and Laurie’ – it would make poor Jo look a little strange. Ooh, Thomas and Tuppence! Another one to add to my worthy mentionables

  5. The Social Frog Says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 I have only heard of the first couple!

  6. amanda Says:

    What about Mr Darcy????

  7. Bluestocking Says:

    Ooh I forgot Tommy and Tuppence!

  8. Helen/Dudley Says:

    I agree about Bella and Edward. And now I’m ready to read Winter Solstice again right NOW! This was a great idea.

  9. catnip Says:

    Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy. Swoon!

Leave a Reply

