GETTING IN THE CHRISTMAS SPIRIT

For 3-4 weeks in December, I don’t mind the fact that it gets dark earlier (or at least not as much) because it allows me to see everyone’s holiday lights as I drive home through the gloom. I don’t approve (in fact, I can get downright shirty) of the way business’ promote Christmas before Halloween is over and done with. I like getting through Thanksgiving, and then it starts to feel like the Christmas season.

I play Christmas music at my desk exclusively through the month of December and last year I even hung Christmas (fairy) lights in my office doorway. I haven’t decided yet whether I will do that again next year. Maybe I’ll get one of those huge blow-up lawn thingies to put in my office doorway – if nothing else, it will prevent anyone from coming in and adding crap to my desk. Actually, I’m getting quite a chuckle thinking of a 6′ Grinch taking up 1/2 my office. Yeah, that’s my sense of humor:)

Helen has started listing her favorite Christmas songs on her blog, putting up one a day. It got me thinking, what is my favorite – I mean of-all-time-never-to-be-beaten – Christmas carol? I have always liked God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen because when I was really little, I used to sing God Rest Ye Mary Bethell Graham, putting my name in – it just fit so well. And I was 3. I love What Child is This (Greensleeves) because the melody is just so beautiful, although I think I like Sarah McLachlan’s version best where she sings the harmony rather than the melody. And then there’s The Elf’s Lament by the Bare Naked Ladies because, again, my sense of humor. Elves going on strike? Come on! That’s funny! Silent Night especially done by John Denver and the Muppets brings me to tears all the time.

But the winner of the hands-down-most-favoritest Christmas song has to be the Gesu Bambino but it has to be sung by Luciano Pavarotti. I get goose bumps every time.

What’s your favorite?

7 Responses to “GETTING IN THE CHRISTMAS SPIRIT”

  1. amanda Says:

    Are tastes are entirely too similiar. I agree with all of the above but will add the Susani on the three tenors christmas album.

  2. Loralee Choate Says:

    I love all those Christmas tunes. I was just thinking today that I should write something about the fact that there is some really, really HORRIBLE Christmas music out there. Which is a pity because I love Christmas music.

  3. catnip Says:

    I love all of those, but my very favorite Christmas carol is O Holy Night.

  4. Anonymous Says:

    There are some brilliant modern versions and new carols, which I look forward to hearing:1. David Bowie and Bing Crosby’s duet of “Little Drummer Boy”.2. “Fairytale of New York” duet with The Pogues and Kirst MacColl.3. “Do They Know It’s Christmas” by Band Aid. “feeeeed thaaa werr-rrld…” aah so good.

  5. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    The 6′ Grinch is a great idea, but I can’t see it…you just aren’t the Grinchey type:)Pavoritti! Lovely!There’s a little award for you at my site:)

  6. sheoflittlebrain Says:

    I meantPavarotti! Lovely!:)

  7. noble pig Says:

    Right now my favorite is Winter Wonderland by Amy Grant and All I Want for Christmas is my Two Front Teeth by Nat King Cole.

Leave a Reply

