BOOKING THROUGH THURSDAY – Authors, favorite and otherwise

This week’s Booking Through Thursday question(s) are:

1. Do you have a favorite author?

I have many favorite authors. If I had to pick only one, it would be Dick Francis, but fighting for the top spot would be Mercedes Lackey, Louisa May Alcott, Terry Brooks, JK Rowling, and the list goes on.

2. Have you read everything he or she has written?

Dick Francis – yes. Everyone else no but I’m trying my hardest. I’ve read all the Harry Potter books by Rowling but I haven’t read all the supplementary books she wrote to go with the series. I’ve read a lot of Mercedes Lackey’s series of books but every time I think I’m getting near the end, I find more, which is wonderful for a book lover!

3. Did you LIKE everything?

No. I think Dick Francis’ writing has gone down hill since his wife died (lending weight to the rumor that she helped him tremendously with all his books, if not wrote them herself.) I think with hugely prolific authors, not everything will be on equal footing and some books will not live up to the promise of others. They may have been written before the author got popular or it may be that he/she started writing too quickly, trying to get too many books out. John Grisham is a perfect example – his early books were amazing! The last few – not so much. With Mercedes Lackey, over all I’ve liked everything I’ve read so far, but there were some that were completely predictable, almost as if she had taken another story and just changed the names and places.

4. How about a least favorite author?

I don’t like Melville and I don’t like Steinbeck. My past English teachers all felt a stab in the heart and they won’t know why. But, there it is.

5. An author you wanted to like, but didn’t

I come from a family of readers who are not afraid to share their feelings about books. No one can believe I don’t like Nelson DeMille. When I read books, I like having a character that I like or with whom I can associate. There isn’t anyone in his books I liked. The closest I came was the book Plum Island and I felt that was a direct take-off of Robert Parker’s Spenser series. The other book I’m ostracized for not liking is Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger. I can’t tell you how happy I was to find that there are others out there like myself – the I find Holden Caufield boring club.
Want to see how other readers felt? Head on over to Booking Through Thursday and check ’em out!
One Response to “BOOKING THROUGH THURSDAY – Authors, favorite and otherwise”

  1. Smilingsal Says:

    I agree with you about John Grisham. Please visit to see my answers.

Leave a Reply

