SO WHAT WERE THEY SAYING?

Well, we had our company wide meeting this afternoon. All offices present and accounted for. The owners let us know that, while the economy is in the toilet, our jobs are safe for the time being. We have steady work for the next 6-9 months, which is unusal in the construction business right now. That is not to say we’re in a great position because a lot of jobs we had signed contracts for have been put on hold indefinitely because owner’s are having problems getting funding. In the past, we have worked on a more private basis – for hotels and office building owners. Now, we’re going to be entering the public sphere a little more aggressively, pursuing school jobs because they have guaranteed funding.
The owners also let everyone know that as long as you’ve been with the company 6 months, you are getting bonuses this year. Which was a lovely surprise for me when I checked my bank balance to make sure my pay had been direct deposited correctly this morning. All of a sudden, there’s much more money in there than expected. I’m being very responsible and spending it on bills and the like.
I consider myself very lucky to work for a company that plans well in advance so they have a cushion to take us through for a while. Who knows what will happen in the next 6 months – maybe some big jobs we’re bidding will come through and we’ll be back in the comfortable zone. Maybe they won’t and the company will have to start thinking about combining offices. For now, I’m in an okay place, I’ve got a job to come to tomorrow, and the cats have food coming in – for a little longer at least:) Because, who can say no to these faces?

George of the Jungle

Gretel (the diva)

Andrew Eugene

and Lord Dudley

5 Responses to “SO WHAT WERE THEY SAYING?”

  1. painted maypole Says:

    hooray for good news!and cute kitties. oh… i remember when we had 4 kitties…

  2. noble pig Says:

    Oh that’s so great! I think it was my finger crossing.

  3. the dragonfly Says:

    Excellent news! So happy those kitties get to keep eating and such. 🙂(sorry I haven’t been around much. trying to get my blogging feet back under me!)

  4. Helen/Dudley Says:

    Well we obviously can’t say no to them, which is all that matters!

  5. jenny Says:

    what cute cats you have 🙂

Leave a Reply

