Dining Room Before and After

I had a use it or lose it vacation day that had to be taken so I opted for the day after Christmas, thinking I would be exhausted. However, I woke up this morning with excess energy and god forbid I should let that go to waste:) So I decided to start Operation Take Back the House (from clutter and the ever growing band of dust bunnies.) This is what my dining room looked like at 10:30 this morning.


Inventory all over the place.


Boxes piled in the corners.

Stuff junked down where ever.

This is what my dining room looks like at 4:00 this afternoon.


Notice my ever-constant helper

taking a well deserved rest.

It’s not perfect by a long shot. For one thing, I’m stuck with the wallpaper because we rent. I’d really like to get rid of helper’s chair because I don’t want it in the dining room, but the cats love to sit there and look out over their domain.


I haven’t started going through the knick-knack cabinet below yet because I want to get the rest of the house ready and hopefully, we’ll find places where we can put out our stuff. We’ve got some really nice things and I’d like to get them out where we can enjoy them.


But it’s a step in the right direction. I think I’m just moving straight through to the kitchen next. But not today. Today, I’m done. And there are cats reminding me of promised quiet time.
4 Responses to “Dining Room Before and After”

  1. Helen/Dudley Says:

    It looks so good. I can’t believe we have a dining room again.

  2. noble pig Says:

    I love getting the dining room back, it’s such an easy catch-all for all the crap.

  3. amanda Says:

    I am impressed!

  4. Ms. Huis Herself Says:

    I love taking my house back from the built-up crap. It’s such a sense of accomplishment!…maybe that’s why I let it build up…🙂 No, just too busy! Anyway, congrats on the “after!”

Leave a Reply

