THE HOST by Stephenie Meyer

The Premise The earth has been invaded by alien beings known as Souls. They cannot live without a host body, human beings. Most humans were taken over and inserted with a Soul with no knowledge of what was happening, so the transition went very smoothly. The Soul then occupies the body, retaining all its memories, so they can assimilate and fit into their new surroundings. However, some people discovered what was happening and are now on the run, trying to survive, yet slowly becoming extinct. When one of these “wild” humans is captured and has a Soul inserted into their body, their minds are sometimes strong enough not to be overcome and their consciousness remains. Melanie is one such human who, at 20 years old, is a perfect body specimen but her mind is strong enough to fight the Soul who now inhabits her physical being.

My Take on the book: This book affected me much more than I thought it would. I haven’t reacted as strongly to a book since Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince – at one point, I was just sobbing! You first meet Melanie after the Soul (Wanderer) has been inserted into her body so anything beforehand is seen through flashbacks and dreams. Two different beings sharing a body can either constantly war with one another, or come to respect each other’s differences. I got completely swept up in all the varied worlds on which Wanderer had lived, and how their cultures could seem at once different yet very similar to ours. Stephenie Meyer had me from the beginning and her characters are fantastic. They stay with you long after you’re done reading the book. The Host, like Twilight, was one of those books I could not put down. Luckily, I started reading it when I didn’t have to spend a lot of time at work because I could see myself dipping in for one more page in between projects.

Reading Challenges: Countdown Challenge, 999 Challenge, 100 Book Challenge

Rating: five stars

My Rating system:

five stars – couldn’t put it down and will read again
four stars – enjoyable read, but had some flaws
three stars – really didn’t affect me one way or the other
two stars – too many problems to make the story enjoyable
one star – didn’t even finish the book
4 Responses to “THE HOST by Stephenie Meyer”

  1. J. Kaye Oldner Says:

    WOW! Great review. Did you read her vampire series?

  2. Teddyree Says:

    Wonderful review, I can’t wait to read this one. I read all 4 in the Twilight series in a week!

  3. Sunnysmileqt Says:

    I just finished Breaking Dawn last night by Stephenie Meyer and I’ve been throwing around the idea of reading this novel. I think I might look into it later this year because the premise and everything really seems interesting.

  4. Susan B. Evans Says:

    I really enjoyed your review! I am planning on reading this one sometime by the end of the year. It looks amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

