DARK OF THE MOON by John Sandford

Mysteries are the mainstay of my reading diet. I’ve found some amazing books in other genres and since Ive started reading book blogs, my wish list just gets longer and longer, but mysteries will always be my comfort zone.
I’ve read quite a few of John Sandford’s Lucas Davenport PREY novels and really enjoyed them. This was the first I’ve read with Virgil Flowers as the lead detective.
THE PREMISE: Flowers, a member of the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, is on his way into Bluestem, MN to investigate a ritual style murder where the victim’s eyes have been shot out, when he sees a fire burning on the outskirts of town. The victim in the fire is Bill Judd, someone everyone loved to hate after he took all their money in a pyramid scheme 20 years ago. Is this latest victim connected to the case Flowers has been called into investigate? This is just one of many questions he will need to answer before he can stop the killer from continuing his deadly vendetta.
MY TAKE: I liked this book a lot. I had an idea if who the killer might be a quarter of the way through the book (I was wrong, I might add) but Sandford doesn’t skimp on the suspects. He has several that remain viable right up until the end. Even when, near the end, I was sure of the killer, he kept dropping hints that made me have doubts.
There were a couple of little things that kept me from loving this book. At one point Flowers gets a list of names of people who had heard a piece of important information and he recognizes one of the names on the list. Well, would you like to share the names with the readers?? How are we supposed to keep up if we don’t get all the info? I HATE when authors do that. Also, I thought the very end (last chapter) was superfluous. It wasn’t absolutely necessary to the story and to me, all it served was to provide an easy out of a relationship for the protagonist. It just ended the book on an off note. Otherwise the story was good and held up throughout, I was never bored and waiting for the end, and I made my sister wait ten minutes before we went out the other night so I could finally find out “who-dunnit”.

Read for 100 Book Challenge, the Countdown Challenge, and the 999 Challenge.

MY RATING: 4 stars out of five

My Rating system:
five stars – couldn’t put it down and will read again
four stars – enjoyable read, but had some flaws
three stars – really didn’t affect me one way or the other
two stars – too many problems to make the story enjoyable
one star – didn’t even finish the book

One Response to “DARK OF THE MOON by John Sandford”

  1. J. Kaye Says:

    Had to laugh at not sharing the names with the readers. I totally understand.

Leave a Reply

