GODS BEHAVING BADLY by Marie Phillips

The Premise (from the back of the book): The twelve Greek gods of Olympus are alive and well in the twenty-first century, but they are crammed together in a London town house – and none too happy about it. For Artemis (goddess of hunting, professional dog walker), Aphrodite (goddess of beauty, telephone sex operator), and Apollo (god of the sun, TV psychic), there’s no way out – until a meek house cleaner, Alice, and her would-be boyfriend, Neil, turn their world upside down.

When what begins as a minor squabble between Aphrodite and Apollo escalates into an epic battle of wills, Alice and Neil must fear not only for their own lives but for the survival of humankind. Nothing less than a true act of heroism is needed – but can these two ordinary people replicate the feats of the mythical heroes and save the world?

My Take on the Book: I had a ball with this book from the very beginning. There is a tongue-in-cheek tone that suits my sense of humor perfectly. If you are offended by sexual situations, this is NOT the book for you. After all, these gods, well other than Artemis, were not known for their chastity. I love that Marie Phillips matched the gods with such perfect current-day jobs. While this book centers around Artemis, Apollo and Aphrodite, I would be very interested to see what she does with the other gods. And I love that her mortals, who should be overshadowed by the larger than life gods, quietly stand their ground and show themselves to be the true heroes of the book. I will be keeping an eye out for more by her.

Thank you to A Reader’s Respite for recommending this book.

Reading Challenges: New Author Challenge, 100 Book Challenge

Rating: five stars

My Rating system: five stars – couldn’t put it down and will read again
four stars – enjoyable read, but had some flaws
three stars – really didn’t affect me one way or the other
two stars – too many problems to make the story enjoyable
one star – didn’t even finish the book

2 Responses to “GODS BEHAVING BADLY by Marie Phillips”

  1. J. Kaye Says:

    I keep hearing so many great things about this book! If only I had more time to read.

  2. Michele at Reader's Respite Says:

    Yikes…I’m slow on catching up with everyone these days! But I’m so glad you enjoyed the book!!! I thought it was adorable and such a cute premise. I’m glad someone else got a kick out of it, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

