OF SEALING WAX AND KINGS ….

  1. I do a post office run most days on my lunch hour, taking packages bought the day before from our store to be mailed out. During my ride, the classic rock station does a retro request lunch hour featuring songs from the 80’s. I have problems accepting that music from the 80’s is considered classic rock (it makes me sick to my stomach actually,) but it’s my favorite decade for music and I look forward to the ride every day. The other day, I got into the car to the sounds of “Heartless” by Kanye West. Now don’t get me wrong – I really like the song. But there’s no way it should be coming out of my radio on the classic rock station. It seems that over the weekend, they switched to Hot Hits and they didn’t even have the guts to tell me! The nerve!! They may have mentioned it during the 23 hours and 15 minutes I don’t listen during the day, but I KNOW they never mentioned it during the 45 minutes I do have the station on. That really sucks! Only to be outdone is horrible-ness by my dad getting into his car expecting classical music only to find out the station had switched to hair bands. Actually, that wasn’t so much horrible as really, really funny. But then, I didn’t listen to the station so I could laugh about it.
  2. I got an email from brother #3 labeled No Love from the Little Golden Men yesterday. Among 4 letter words, he let me know that while the Academy of Motion Pictures recognized Heath Ledger for Best Supporting Actor for his role as the Joker, The Dark Knight got shut out for all the other awards. Evidently the academy members do not appreciate true art when they see it. I mean, how can you not award the disappearing pencil act? For those who have seen the movie, you know of what I speak. For those who haven’t, I wouldn’t want to ruin the surprise for you.
  3. Have you ever noticed how quickly we can adapt to changing temperatures? After the severe cold at the end of last week, we were reveling in the balminess of 30 degrees on Sunday. Today it’s 48 and 30 seems so cold. At least we’re positive numbers. I think I might have to kill myself if I lived in the areas that spend a good portion of their winter in negative digits. I like double digits, preferably starting with a positive 7 please.
  4. The pinky continues to heal in an agonizingly slow fashion. It remains swathed in gauze because otherwise, I would spend my day alternately passing out and/or vomiting at the disgustingness that I visited upon myself. Never graceful at the best of times, adding a bandage just ensures that I bang the damn thing several times an hour. Typing is an experience, I can assure you. I’m thinking of becoming the next ee cummings and just doing away with capitals altogether. Also, the ; is the new ‘ because I keep hitting the semicolon when I want the apostrophe. Oh, and p no longer exists in words. Just so you know.
  5. If I’m in your blog reader, I apologize. Doing all these reading challenges, I update the posts whenever I finish a book, and I can just see Google Reader lighting up like a Christmas trees. “She posted 7 times in the past 10 minutes – that has to be a record:)” when all I’m doing is adding a book and a link to 7 different older posts. So when you try to see what I’ve been doing, you have to go back through a month’s worth of posts to see the changes. It’s not worth it, I promise. Just mark them all as read. And if I’m not in your reader, why are you still reading this drivel?
  6. Have you noticed how cable channels (not premium channels like HBO, but regular old cable channels like TNT) are competing with the big 4 (ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX) for prime time series? We are fans of The Closer, Leverage, and Burn Notice. We’re going to give Trust Me a shot when it starts on Monday. Tom Cavanagh and Eric McCormack? You could do a lot worse.
  7. And now, I might want to get back to work since the weekend doesn’t officially start for me for another hour. I’m supposed to be putting together submittals for reveals but I get distracted easily since I don’t actually know what they are. Don’t you want to be me?

Happy Friday Folks!

Leave a Reply

