5 REASONS I LOVE NEW JERSEY

**Updated to add my own Mr Linky – I originally put in someone else’s which wasn’t right.**

Yesterday, two radio hosts were discussing the reasons people stay in the state of NJ. I came in on the middle of the conversation so I’m not sure what started it, but it had something to do with the rising cost of taxes per student. Anyway, after speaking to callers, the only valid reason they could devise was proximity to family. Everyone is staying here because they have family members living in NJ. Otherwise, in their minds, everyone would leave the state en masse, for greener pastures elsewhere. Now, I personally disagree with this way of thinking, and now is the perfect time to post a meme I’ve been mulling over for a while. Hopefully you’ll join in and we can learn more about your home state. So, without further ado, the five reasons I love living in New Jersey ….

#5 The seasons – While I hate this

it does make me appreciate this

so much more. And while we see the white stuff almost every year, where I am in NJ, we usually don’t have to deal with the crippling ice storms or the feet of snow. No, we tend to get a dusting to a few inches at best, which will then disappear with the first hint of sun. Every few years, we get a La Nina year which brings a lot more, but other than that, we just layer on the sweaters and go about our daily business.

There’s a reason we are the Garden State. While people laugh about how we Jerseyans glow in the dark and that the mosquito is our state bird, we still boast some of the most beautiful gardens and when Spring finally decides to come, New Jersey BLOOMS! And I cannot wait:)

#4 Proximity to everything – I love that at most, a two hour drive will bring me here

Shea Stadium

or here

Yankee Stadium

or even here (sigh)

Philly Phanatic

to see a baseball game. And I’m within an hour from one of the greatest cities in the world where I can see a show,

go to museums


or even go to the Opera, should it strike my fancy.


I don’t even have to drive – one quick train ride and then, with judicious use of the subway, I can be anywhere in the city within an hour of leaving my doorway.

#3 The houses – While we do have our share of trailer parks and way more ranch houses than ever deserved to be built, we also have amazing architecture in all different types and sizes. These are just a few from towns around me but you don’t have to look far to find beautiful, old houses everywhere.


#2 Taylors Ham/Pork Roll – This is a Jersey thing, I understand that, but if you’re ever here, you have to try a Taylors Ham sandwich for breakfast, lunch, or even fast easy dinner.


I know it doesn’t look very appetizing …

but once it’s broiled,

and topped with cheese and a nicely fried egg, other than being cholesterol on bread, it’s divine! Kids who go away to school very often ask their parents to send down boxes of Taylors Ham so they can get it while they’re away. Even all those people who are moving away from our fair state come back for pork roll sandwiches.

The #1 reason I love living in NJ are the Beaches. While I can’t claim to be a widely travelled person, I have been to beaches in other states and they are just not the same as ours.

I cannot imagine living somewhere where I was not within driving distance of the ocean. I know that lakes and rivers are beautiful in their own rights, but I am an ocean person and always have been.


I love the wildness and the vastness of the water, and the varied plant and animal life that revolve around the ocean. No matter how upset I get, I will always find peace at the beach, even in the midst of a raging storm.

So, what about you? Where do you live? And what are the five best things about your home state/country? Tell all so we want to come visit you and find out for ourselves what makes your home the best:)

This is the first time I’m attempting to use Mr. Linky – fingers crossed it works!

2 Responses to “5 REASONS I LOVE NEW JERSEY”

  1. sketched out Says:

    Wow, I’m sold! Nice to hear a resident of New Jersey point out it’s finer points. I’d love to jump into this meme, however it’ll probably take me a few days to find a moment, hee hee! Great idea!!

  2. Susiej Says:

    I have friends from Pt. Pleasant Beach. Is that close to you? And I have been there, and it is lovely and so close to everything.

Leave a Reply

