FACEBOOK AND THE SOCIAL MEDIA PHENOMENA

I am just figuring out how to use Facebook. I’ve been on for a while and used it to keep in contact with family members – a cooler form of email if you will. It also fulfills my voyeuristic tendencies by allowing me to see what people look like without having to talk to them or letting them see me. Okay, that came across as way too stalkerish, which isn’t what I mean at all. It’s more of an abbreviated visit – you can see everything at a glance “okay, 3 kids, 2 dogs, went to Hawaii for vacation last year – still with the husband, all is well”, without having to live through the descriptions of how Johnny made the final goal last Thursday and how pet #2 had to go to the vet for bloody stool, etc. Have I mentioned recently that I’m kind of an anti-social being? No, well there it is.

However, yesterday as I was tooling around trying to remember last names of people I went to college with to see if I could find them, and see what their lives were like now, I found some women I taught with a few years (10 – oh my god, a decade) ago. It was at a small Catholic school and one of the women and I were the first two teachers at that school. She took Kindergarten and I took 1st grade and between us we had 23 students. It was a wonderful community to work in and I really liked my fellow teachers a lot. Unfortunately, I couldn’t survive on the salary, especially since I was living on my own at the time. So I moved over to the public school, hated it and wound up not teaching anymore. Another post, another time.

Normally, I don’t miss teaching at all. I don’t miss working with the kids. In fact, my favorite part of teaching was putting together the lessons and finding all the cool backup stuff (like books to read and projects to make) that supported the basic lesson plan. But what I realized yesterday is that I miss the feeling of belonging that I felt when I taught in the small Catholic school. I like my job now and for the most part, I really like the people I work with, but I constantly feel like I stick out like a sore thumb. They talk about furring out walls and, while I now know what that means (in a vague overall way), the first thing that still jumps to mind is adding fur to the walls. I miss working with people who have the same training and background that I have so when I start talking about the books I’m reading, they don’t look at me like I’ve got two heads. If I told this group I was trying to read 100 books this year, they wouldn’t understand. They’re just not readers, which is fine, but every now and then it’s nice to have a cozy chat with someone who does understand.

Yesterday I connected with two of the teachers from that small Catholic school and today one of the parents of one of my first students there got in touch with me, all via Facebook. Hopefully, I’ll be able to meet up with them in person sometime soon. One of the sweetest things about the connections were they all made me feel missed, which is really very nice:)

And best use of Facebook to date? My boss closed the office Sunday night because of all the snow that was expected to fall. No one had my current cell phone number and one of my colleagues thought to contact me by way of Facebook. Kudos to her because even thinking of going anywhere on Monday would have been daunting, to say the least.
One Response to “FACEBOOK AND THE SOCIAL MEDIA PHENOMENA”

  1. Jeanne Says:

    I also like facebook because I can post pictures of my cats!

Leave a Reply

