CONFESSIONS OF A LAZ-A-HOLIC

Exercise is the bane of my existence. I would be so happy to be able to sit in my comfy chair, reading a good book, and magically lose weight. I used to practice what I’d say to the genie when I got my three wishes. I don’t know if you’re familiar with the way genies work – you ask for something and they twist it to fit their sick way of looking at things (they’ve got to be able to have some fun – they’re locked in a bottle for all eternity.) If you simply wish to lose say, 20 pounds, they’ll leave your body shape the same and make you a foot shorter, or they’ll take away a leg or an arm. What? You’re 20 pounds lighter aren’t you? The trick is to be as specific as possible.
As I’ve gotten older, I’ve given up waiting for the genie to come. Not that I’ve given up believing in genies, I’ve just resigned myself to the fact that I probably won’t find one of their bottles in the near future. Which means if I want to lose weight, I’m going to have to actually work at it. Bleah!
As Helen and I have been progressing through this latest round of dieting, we’ve slowly (we don’t want to overdo things here!) been adding exercise to our daily routines. We have been working with the Wii Fit which is great but doesn’t seem to be doing enough. I have limited time in the morning and waiting between each yoga pose for the instructor to tell me how shaky I am and then tell me I’m a Yoga Newcomer is not how I want to spend any of that time. So we’ve been interviewing different exercise videos to see what fits with what we need.
Yesterday, we tried a Pilate’s work out. We are convinced that the person running the video is the devil. No one should smile like that while they are torturing you to the point of passing out. Seriously, I made it through 1 1/2 segments before I was so light headed, I thought I was going to vomit. Obviously, we are NOT READY for that level of fitness yet. I’m slightly disgusted with myself for letting myself get so out of shape that I can’t make it through a stinking workout, but the damage is done so I’m dealing with the present and leaving the past where it belongs – as a guilty voice in my head berating me for all the mistakes I’ve made.
Since I’m such a pansy, we had to look elsewhere. We found a walking video on our Cable On Demand channel – 33 minutes of walking, squatting, kicking, moving arms, etc. – which we did this morning. I can still feel it in my arms which is good (not so good at the time when I was cursing my old lady arms). Definitely got my heartbeat going and the blood pumping. I’m not so sure how good it’s going to be for some of my target areas but it’s a start.
I get bored easily (I’ll use any excuse to stop exercising) and having a buddy that is able to force you to exercise with her is a good thing. But I don’t know how long this walking video has before I start sleep walking through it. I read about My Fitness Coach on A Mommy Story and I’m intrigued – besides, this is what I’m really good at – spending money – and I might as well feel good about at least one part of this venture, right? So I’m going to research that a little more – it may be just what I’m looking for – short of having a personal trainer come in a whip me into shape. Or if anyone knows a kind genie that will just make me my ideal weight without taking any of my limbs, I’m in the market.
2 Responses to “CONFESSIONS OF A LAZ-A-HOLIC”

  1. Tony Says:

    You got a very interesting article here.Staying fit and healthy gives us more confidence the way we look at ourselves. That is why it is so important that we care take of our body as we use it on our daily activities.

  2. sketched out Says:

    Hooo boy, can I relate! I am constantly starting and stopping with the workouts. My husband and I keep trying to inspire each other and that works half the time anyway, he ehee. But tonight, instead of working out, I’m heading out for some frozen yogurt… at least it’s non-fat, eh?

Leave a Reply

