WEIGHT WATCHERS TURKEY/PARMESAN MEATLOAF

One of my biggest challenges in doing Weight Watchers, and losing weight in general, is portion control. I don’t know when to stop. I don’t need more – I’ve noticed that when I’m finished the portion allotted to me, I’m not hungry, but if it’s something I really enjoy, I have room for more. If I wasn’t following strict guidelines, I’d definitely go back for another serving. I am trying to train my body not to crave 2nds, but it’s an uphill battle.

We have two Weight Watcher’s cookbooks, because I love cookbooks and have all manner of them falling out of my kitchen bookcase. The Weight Watcher cookbooks are wonderful because they have the nutritional information right there under the recipe. As a part of said nutritional info, they have the point values right there so I don’t have to figure out how many points we’re using per meal. And there are lots of recipes we haven’t tried yet, seeing as we’re not usually big on eating light. Last night, we tried the Turkey/Parmesan Meatloaf.

Let me introduce you to the cast of characters for this culinary experience: ground turkey, ketchup, fat-free milk, pepper, olive oil, bread crumbs, garlic powder, dried basil & thyme, an onion, and an egg white. Not pictured: salt and Parmesan cheese (I can’t believe I forgot to get the cheese out – it’s the best part of the meal!)

Chop the onion and then saute it in the oil.


Not too long – just until it starts to turn a golden brown. While the onions are cooking,

get out the ingredients for the garlic mashed potatoes. What? I didn’t say we were having potatoes? Silly me! Is it even legal to have meatloaf without mashed potatoes? You’ll need salt, fat-free buttermilk, garlic, and of course potatoes! I like using the small baby potatoes because you don’t have to peel them or cut them too much – most of these can just be cut in half.


Smash the garlic by resting the flat of the knife on the clove and hitting it with the base of your hand – it’s very cathartic, trust me. Then remove the peels and throw the garlic into the pot with your potatoes. Add just enough cold water to cover the potatoes and then put them on the stove over a high heat.

Back to the onions. Once they’re done, let them cool for a minute while you get out a big bowl and dump in the meat, spices, ketchup, egg white (after whisking it briskly), bread crumbs, milk and salt and pepper. Add the onions and mix everything together. (I was going to take a picture of everything measured out in the bowl but by the time I remembered, my hands were full of gook and I love my camera way too much to subject it to those hands.)

At this point I read the recipe all the way through and realized that you’re supposed to cook the meatloaf for an hour. I was by this time STARVING! and waiting an hour for dinner just wasn’t an option. So I separated the meat into four patties – don’t they look delectable?


and threw them onto my indoor grill pan.


Fast, easy meatloaf/burgers in way less time! After three of four minutes, flip those babies and cook up the other sides.

When the potatoes are fork ready (a fork goes in and out of the pieces easily), drain them and get to work with the masher. Don’t forget to mash the garlic too. Add the buttermilk and salt & pepper to taste and you’re good to go.

Let this be a lesson to you – don’t answer the phone while cooking these burgers because they go very quickly. I was on with my landlord and look what happened! Do you think I could deduct the cost of the meal from my rent? Actually, it wasn’t that bad – just a little more well done than I like. You can garnish the potatoes with some chives to make them look pretty and add a slight onion taste but did I mention that I was HUNGRY? Also, it would probably be really healthy to add a salad, but we’re taking baby steps here.
I’ll be honest – this wasn’t my favorite recipe that I’ve gotten from the book. I am not a fan of ketchup and I could taste it in the meatloaf/burgers. The potatoes were definitely garlicky, but next time I’m going to fit in the extra points and use either butter or low-cal sour cream. They needed something … Overall, not bad, but probably one I won’t repeat.
Leave a Reply

