THE WII FIT BOARD IS OUT TO SABOTAGE MY DIET

I think the Wii Fit Board lies. There, I said it. I didn’t want to bring it up before because I wanted to give him every opportunity to do the right thing, but he continuously gives me the wrong numbers when I weigh in and … I think he’s lying. Case in point, this morning, I weighed myself for the first time in a week. After getting through the shirty back-talk about not seeing me in 7 days, blah blah blah, he said I went down only 2/10 of a pound. Well, unless my pants are growing, buddy, I’m getting smaller! Then, he had the audacity to tell Helen that she went UP 2/10 of a pound. What, we’re supposed to believe that there is only a set amount of weight in the world our house and whatever I lose, she gains, and vice versa? I mean, how stupid do you think we are? We’re both eating the same amount of food and doing the same exercises, so it stands to reason that we’d both be going in the same direction. I’m not expecting us to lose exactly the same amount of weight (and I’ve got to say it’s really fishy that we both had the same numbers, just in opposite directions) but we should both be going down.
Actually, it’s terribly frustrating to step on the scale and find that you’ve only moved a minuscule amount, and even more so when you gain. We’ve been really good for the past few months and even this past Saturday, having people over for dinner and the derby, we didn’t go wild. Yes, we had a few tater-tots but it’s not like we ate the entire bowl (not out of the realm of possibility) or anything. We’re noticing the difference in our clothes, which I realize is where the truth lies. I shouldn’t put any weight in what the scale tells me (god I kill myself sometimes!) but when you’re feeling so good about how you’re doing, to step on the scale and have it out and out lie to you is too much! 
We didn’t exercise this weekend (or Friday) (or Thursday) because I’ve been in a bit of pain from an infected gum and jumping around when your mouth is throbbing is too much to take at 6 AM. Well, it’s too much for me to take, anyway, and in a show of solidarity, Helen also passed up on the torture exercising. I mean, she wouldn’t want me to feel bad that she was getting so far ahead of me in the weight loss race. But we were back at it this morning, facing off against the smiling minion from hell Denise Austin for Pilates. And I feel better for it, I will admit. 
The antibiotics I’m on for the infection a) taste vile, even though I swallow them immediately; and b) require me to drink 64 oz of liquid a day. I am constantly peeing. I would have thought that just the amount of liquid I’ve gotten rid of in the past few days would have gotten me more than 2/10 of a pound loss. Making myself drink that much is a challenge. I’ve found that I drink more when drinking out of a glass than a bottle so I’m pouring everything out. I just have to pay attention when I’m actually dispensing the drink because if I’m not, I tend to pour it all over the desk/papers/computer. And let me tell you, drinking from the desktop is not as easy as it sounds. What!?? I don’t want to waste any of it, do I?
One Response to “THE WII FIT BOARD IS OUT TO SABOTAGE MY DIET”

  1. PG Says:

    Muscle weighs more than fat, so it’s probable that you are toning up (hence trousers fitting) but are technically heavier. And if the point is to fit into your clothes comfortably then you are on the right track!

Leave a Reply

