ALMOST SHEPHERD’S PIE

Fridays during the summer we’re let out at 3:00 instead of 5:00 like normal days. This gives me a chance to catch up on some of my favorite Food Network shows, like Everyday Italian and Barefoot Contessa (if you get past the giggle, she makes some kick-ass food!) Last week I discovered Cooking for Real with Sunny Anderson where she was making Shepherd’s Pie with mashed potatoes and beef and Havarti cheese. It looked so good I decided to give it a try the following night. However, I had a few stumbling blocks – a) my father hates, loathes, and despises onions and balks at foods that are known to have onions in them; and b) I had a package of chicken that had to be used. So I decided to do my take on the dish.
First I boiled some potatoes – something that is not as easy as it seems when using an AGA – great for heat but not so much for getting water to boil.
Then I cooked the chicken – quick bake in a 400 degree oven. Well, not so quick – this is chicken we’re talking about. I pulled it apart in a bowl. I’d could let you think I just ripped it apart with my bare hands, but really – I don’t like getting my hands that dirty. I used two forks and added some honey barbecue sauce.
Then I started layering the dish – first the barbecue pulled chicken,
then some sharp cheddar cheese – (I decided to go with a stronger cheese than Sunny’s Havarti because I didn’t want the barbecue sauce to overshadow the cheese)
and finally the mashed potatoes.

I baked it for 30 minutes and it came out perfect! Layer after layer of yummy goodness! In fact, it was so good, Dad wouldn’t let us have the leftovers for lunch the next day because he wanted to keep them for himself. It’s always a good sign when someone gets possessive about the leftovers:)

One Response to “ALMOST SHEPHERD’S PIE”

  1. A Joyful Chaos Says:

    Looks and sounds delicious. I will have to try it soon.

Leave a Reply

