GOOD NOTE/BAD NOTE

I’ve been thinking about what I want to write about BlogHer ’09 for the past week because my experience wasn’t all sunshine and roses. I don’t want to sound bitchy or whiny or why didn’t you people make this work perfectly for me because that’s not how I feel, but I want to be honest about it too. So I’ve been playing around with the words, trying to own them* and make them work the way I know they should.
Good Note: I desperately wanted to go to BlogHer and I went.
Bad Note: I missed the deadline for BlogHer and instead went to LobbyCon, which, despite numerous warnings from the people running it, did not live up to my expectations. The fault was on me because I read more into the descriptions than they planned. I really thought that we were going to be able to hear the individual sessions, just not the smaller rooms that bloggers were running. I spent a lot of time reading the blurbs of the sessions and planning which ones I would follow. I was very interested to see how they would broadcast the 4 separate venues without interfering with one another.
Good Note: I MADE myself go up and speak to people I only knew through blogs I read. Anyone who knows me knows how difficult that is for me.
Bad Note: For the most part, after I did my spiel of Hi, I’m so & so, and I love your blog the conversation pretty much died. They were polite and said “oh, thank you” but I realized afterwards that I pretty much have NOTHING in common with them and they don’t read me, so – awkward much?
Good Note: I met three of the bloggers I love to read and they were EXACTLY how I expected them to be. With them, I clicked immediately and it felt like I’ve known them forever.
Bad Note: Yeah, there’s nothing bad here.
Good Note: I was not involved in any of the duh, duh, duh … swag drama!
Bad Note: Obviously I missed out on some killer swag. And as far as the drama goes, I probably would have missed it anyway because I am so oblivious, even when it’s happening around me.
Good Note: I got to meet Paula Deen, y’all! That was completely awesome! Not only is she the sweetest lady, but she surrounds herself with wonderful people. I was cracking up at how Hollis, her right hand man, could not keep a straight face during the question and answer section of her presentation. I also learned so much from her during her talk.
Bad Note: I didn’t get to meet Tim Gunn. By the time he got there, we were on the road back home. 14 hours driving is a lot, let me tell you!
Good Note: Helen & I came with the intention of handing out lots of business cards and getting the name of our store, Fragile Earth Stuffed Animals, out there for people to see. And we did, even if most of them went to the vendors on the expo floor. However, they’re parents too and they might want to buy stuffed animals for their kids — or for themselves!
Bad Note: Again, no down side.
So, do I think it was worth the trip and will I be going back to BlogHer? I will definitely be going next year, especially since it’s right across the river! And I feel the expense was worth the trip. This kind of conference can be overwhelming for everyone, not only the socially inept like me, and each time it should get easier. Besides, by next year, I’m going to be so popular, everyone will be reading my blog and wanting to meet me (snort!)
*click the link and go read Neil’s take on owning your words – so well done:)
6 Responses to “GOOD NOTE/BAD NOTE”

  1. Neil Says:

    I know I would be better prepared next time, better knowing what I want to get out of a conference like this one. I found everything a bit chaotic for a first timer.

  2. AnnetteK Says:

    Well, I loved meeting you even though I didn't get to spend much time with you. You and Helen were two of the few people I made a real effort to look for and meet up with.

    I wish I hadn't eaten at the party at the House of Blues. Then I wouldn't have had to rush out with stomach "issues" and could have chatted longer. Blerg. I hope that didn't make you think I didn't want to be there.

  3. FAT BRIDESMAID Says:

    I'm so glad you and Helen came up to say hi and that we got a chance to talk! I kept following your trip to Chicago via Twitter and was hoping we'd get a chance to meet up! 🙂

    You're right, next year will be better (and more shopping! hurrah! I can't wait!).

  4. kdiddy Says:

    It was extremely overwhelming. I met so many people in two days that my brain shut down and started reintroducing myself to people I'd already met. the worst part was that they remembered meeting me, which made me feel even douchier. next year, I'm making some kind of photo cheat sheet.

  5. krissie Says:

    It was so nice to meet you! It did feel like you knew me in a not-at-all-creepy sort of way! Glad you all got to meet Paula! I swear by her corn pudding recipe. And all three f you looked beautiful in the picture of y'all!

  6. tokenfatgirl Says:

    it was really lovely to meet you too 🙂 and i still want your rabbit necklace! I've been searching for something similar on etsy!

Leave a Reply

