DROP DEAD DIVA

I saw an episode of Drop Dead Diva, when I was dropping dead from exhaustion in my hotel room in Chicago last month, and was intrigued. I had read something about it in one of the magazines and thought it might be interesting to watch, but since it is on the Lifetime channel, which I never watch, I never think to check the lineup. Maybe fate wants me to watch this show because, as I said, there I was, in my hotel, and guess what was on.

Here is what IMDB has to say about the show …

When beautiful-but-vapid model wannabe Deb has a fatal car accident, she suddenly finds herself in front of Heaven’s gatekeeper, Fred, who declares her a self-centered “zero.” Outraged, she attempts to persuade Fred to return her to her shallow existence but is accidentally relegated to the body of the recently deceased Jane Bingum. A brilliant, thoughtful and plus-size attorney with a loyal assistant, Teri, Jane has always lived in the shadow of her more comely colleagues whereas Deb has always relied on her external beauty. Now, by a twist of fate and a bolt of divine intervention, Deb must come to terms with inhabiting Jane’s plus-size frame in the ultimate showdown between brains and beauty from imdb

One of the things that caught my interest in the magazine article was the relative newcomer playing Jane Bingum (Brooke Elliot) and how she has to basically carry two roles. I have to tell you, I love her! I think she is fantastic and she makes the show … along with Fred, her guardian angel who is learning how to live here on earth. The premise may be a little hokey, but man, she makes it work!

I found episodes 3-5 ON DEMAND through our cable provider this week and watched them the other night. I still haven’t seen the first episode but there is a standard recap at the beginning of each so I really haven’t lost anything.

I still don’t know where Lifetime is on my overall channel list (although I’m going to have to find it soon because of Project Runway – which reminds me – Sunday’s episode has TIM GUNN!!!) but I’m setting the DVR to record DDD because I’m really enjoying it!

On a side note, I love how the non-premium cable channels are coming into their own with kick-ass original shows. During the summer especially, I watch more TNT & USA than network channels. And now I’m going to add Lifetime to the list:D
Leave a Reply

