IN A RUT

I think when you do the same thing, day after day, you get into a rut and it’s sometimes difficult to change your ways. Some habits are good – getting up at 6AM to exercise every weekday may not bring a smile to my face in the mornings, but over the course of the day, I really do feel better. Helen & I have been doing the EA Active for the Wii, which is challenging us to do things (like run) outside our comfort zone. This is a good thing. While each day’s exercise program differs slightly, the basics are the same. I get bored easily, so I thought we might want to give our Wii Personal Trainer another go. And, I found out that there are some muscles that the EA Active does not address, which got a rather rude wake-up call after being on vacation for the past couple of months. I don’t think they’re a major muscle group – more like baby muscles – but good lord, they do hurt!
This past weekend, in an effort to shake things up, we decided to ride bikes for the first time in 15-20 years. Seriously, I didn’t think I was going to be able to sit down for a while. Of course, the fact that I started the whole expedition by falling off the bike didn’t help anything – except Helen’s funny bone. It was pretty funny, actually. You know how you used to put your left foot on the pedal, push off and glide for a bit, and then casually swing your right leg over the bike, settling gently onto the seat? Yeah, don’t try that after a long absence from the whole cycling thing! Feet were tangled everywhere, bars going where they most definitely did not belong, and me on my side in the sand. Nothing was hurt other than my ego and even that didn’t get too bruised.
We have also decided to have a cleansing week or two in our diets. This means lots and lots of salads with plenty of fruit and vegetables thrown in for good measure. This does NOT mean starches of any kind. So pasta, breads, potatoes (gasp! does anyone have a paper bag?) are not allowed for now. By the end of two weeks, I will be going crazy and Helen will take pity on me and allow me a bagel.

Hopefully, by then we’ll be well on our way to flitting like this guy. He was hanging out on the roof at the beach and he had to be at least 7-8 inches long. He was HUGE! I was getting worried he was just waiting to fall into my hair but then he flew away.
One Response to “IN A RUT”

  1. Helen/Dudley Says:

    Ok, crying all over again, laughing at you in the sand (sorry).

    AND I gave up brownies and ice cream at work today.

Leave a Reply

