I have a headache. I’ve spent the day trying not to cry in front of my co-workers because right after getting to work this morning, I found out that an old friend died last night. He’s been fighting cancer for 9 years now, but he always said he’d kick it. He referred to himself as “the cancer kid” and he had every intention of milking the disease for whatever sympathy he could.

The past few months, he’s slowly been sliding down hill. He had a stroke and lost the use of his left hand, but then got it back again. He lost weight, which made him happy, because he was a wee bit vain.

I worked with him at his store on Long Beach Island. I walked into the store looking for work on my summer break and we clicked immediately. The store had it’s quiet times, which we spent playing marathon gin rummy games. We usually wagered books. Quite a few books in my library came because those games. The rules of the games were fluid, depending on who was winning at the time, but it was all in fun.

I feel miserable because I didn’t go see him recently. I kept meaning to go but, whether it was because I was afraid to see him or because I didn’t think he wanted me seeing him so sick, I don’t know. I kept telling myself that I didn’t want to worry him, make him wonder why I was coming to see him suddenly. I think I’m just trying to make myself feel better.

I’m supposed to be going to see Bruce Springsteen tomorrow night. We have two tickets for his last concert at Giant’s Stadium. Saturday, I’m supposed to be going to NYC for the NY Food & Wine festival to see Paula Deen and Giada De Laurentiis. What I will be doing instead is going to viewing tomorrow night and a funeral Saturday. And for my friend, I will gladly give up my tickets because he is worth it.

So yeah, I’ve got a headache.
2 Responses to “”

  1. Ms. Huis Herself Says:

    Oh, dear, I'm so sorry for your loss!

  2. KBL 2 ORD 2 SAN 2 LUV Says:

    Awww, Mary Beth. I'm so sorry about your friend passing away. I'm running a race to raise money for the Goldens Rescue and my co-charity is the American Cancer Society. I'll add your friends name to my running bib. May he rest in peace.

    Hugs from San Diego.

Leave a Reply

