ONE DAY YOU’RE IN AND THE NEXT DAY YOU’RE OUT

I’ve been feeling a little schizophrenic at work recently. There are days when I’m sure I’m about to be called into the VP’s office and told that my services are no longer required. With the economy, building is down and banks don’t want to lend money to construction companies. I’ve learned that no one uses their own money.

In our office, there are some jobs that need to be filled. Someone’s got to answer the phones. Someone has to send out bills to General Contractors, even if it takes a lot to get them paid. Someone has to estimate new jobs in the hopes that we will get something – anything! The one position that is really a luxury in these times is …. my job. If we don’t have enough work for a Project Manager, having an Assistant Project Manager is almost excess.

Then there are days where I think the powers that be are ready to give me new responsibilities and that my job is about to get a lot more exciting. Veiled hints are dropped, but nothing comes from them. And unfortunately, those days don’t happen often. I still have my job, thank goodness, but there are days where I wish I didn’t have to deal with the TENSION – oh my god, the tension – that just seems to be taking over everything! I’ve even started looking on job hiring sites to see if there’s anything open because, when I’m really honest with myself, I am not well suited for this business. And I’m not sure if there’s anywhere I can (or want) to go, career wise.

But then, everything changed. Last week we signed a contract for an $11 million Medical Center job. Suddenly, everyone is happier. The head of the office actually laughed – not just smiled, but laughed out loud! And I have stuff to do again (which I should be doing right now, instead of writing this). So, it looks like I’ll be employed for a bit longer. And I can continue to play ostrich about my future. Look, there’s a nice hole right there to hide my head. It’s under all the submittals I have to find. I’m off to figure out which brand of sheetrock is best for a medical center. Yeah, I know … you really wish you were me.
One Response to “ONE DAY YOU’RE IN AND THE NEXT DAY YOU’RE OUT”

  1. PG Says:

    Hooray! I am so glad to hear this. Andy hates his job too, but we were both so worried when there was a vague hint that he may lose it. Thankfully it hasn't happened.

Leave a Reply

