THE INDIGO KING by James A Owen

Last January, I signed up for a lot of book challenges with the best of intentions. Since I’ve always got a book in close proximity, if not open in front of me, it seemed like a perfect fit. And for the first few months, I was on top of everything – rating the books, linking back to all the blogs, and writing my reviews. Then … life got in the way, as it is wont to do and I got so backlogged that it was  so much easier to play ostrich and let everything slide to the point of no return.

This is not to say I stopped reading (bite your tongue!) No, I kept reading but didn’t keep track of anything and now I can’t remember what I read and when. I want to keep better track this year, so I’m going to be a little bit easier on myself. If I expect nothing, think of how happy I’ll be when I actually do post about books. I’m going to list the books I’ve read and whether I like them or not. I’m not going to worry about linking to other blogs or figuring out if the book I’ve read fits with challenges or not. Just keeping it simple this year. I’ll continue to read book blogs, because I love getting ideas of what to read next from them.

So, here we go … the first book I finished this year was The Indigo King which is the third book in The Chronicles of the Imaginarium Geographica. The basis of this series is that there are not only atlases of known lands in this world, but  also maps of imaginary lands, kept all together in the Imaginarium Geographica. It takes a certain type of person to be the caretaker of the Imaginarium Geographica because one of the duties of the caretaker is to travel back and forth to these imaginary lands, caring for the people that live there and making sure the two worlds (real & imaginary) don’t overlap.

Although these books are geared towards young adults, I’m enjoying them quite a bit. How can you not like a book whose title is Here There Be Dragons – first in the series. For me, part of the allure is the ability to cross into imaginary lands. There are many times I’d like to leave my hum-drum, responsible life for something a little more magical.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

