HERB BROILED (CHICKEN) WITH (ORANGE) AIOLI adapted from Food and Wine Magazine

In the February 2010 edition of Food & Wine Magazine, there is a recipe for Herb Broiled Fish with Lemon Aioli which sounded delicious except for a few minor adjustments.  First – we don’t eat fish of any kind (unless it comes out of a tuna fish can with all the chemicals included) so I switched that out for chicken. Second, I didn’t have any lemons in the house, but I did have a plethora of oranges, and hey – it’s all citrus, right? Third, fresh herbs? Hah! At least, not tonight, so I used dry ones instead.

Okay, on to the recipe. Here are the cast of characters we will be meeting tonight – an orange, olive oil, mayonnaise (and since I’m not supported by anyone, I can freely show that we only use Hellmann’s in this household – Hellmann’s call me? K?), salt & pepper, thyme, bay leaves, and some chicken.

Preheat the broiler and slice the orange very thinly. Reserving two slices for the aioli, lay the remaining slices in a single layer in a small broiling pan and drizzle them with Olive Oil.

Place the pan under the broiler until lightly browned. It took my oven about 10 minutes but I was checking them often.

Finely chop the two remaining orange slices and put them in a bowl with the mayonnaise.

Season with salt and pepper, mix it all up, and put to the side. By now, your oranges should be pretty much done. Take the pan out and sprinkle the thyme over the tops of the oranges. Resist the urge to take the slices and just rub them all over – citrus really gets to me, sorry!

Make three small slices (about 1/2 inch) in each chicken breast and put a bay leaf in each slice. Even though I was using dried bay leaves, it worked beautifully! Season with salt and pepper, drizzle with olive oil, and lay the chicken on top of the broiled oranges. Return the pan to the oven  – I went about 12 minutes on each side under a low broiler. The 20-25 minutes the chicken cooks is just enough time to make a pot of rice. I do mine in chicken stock for extra flavor and if you feel so motivated, you could grate a little bit of orange rind into the rice when it’s almost done to tie the two dishes together.

Now, that’s what I’m talking about!

Drizzle the chicken with a little of the Aioli and put some to the side for further dipping, and you are set to go.

I loved this dish. The flavors are subtle but oh, so delicious! The sweet of the orange mixed with the tang of the mayonnaise add such a kick to the chicken. This is definitely going into my recipe box!

Herb Broiled Chicken with Orange Aioli

1 orange sliced very thin

2 Tbs extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup mayonnaise

salt & freshly ground pepper

couple pinches thyme

four chicken breasts

12 small bay leaves

1. Preheat the broiler. Arrange the orange slices in a small roasting pan and drizzle with a Tbs of olive oil. Broil 8 inches from the heat until lightly browned. Finely chop 2 of the orange slices, removing any pits. (I used naval oranges – no pits here!) Transfer the minced orange to a small bowl; stir in the mayonnaise and season with salt & pepper. Scatter thyme over the orange slices in the pan.

2.  Make three 1/2 inch slashes in the top of each chicken breast and slip a bay leaf in each slit. Place the chicken in the roasting pan and drizzle with the remaining oil; season with salt & pepper. Broil for 10 to 12 minutes per side until the chicken is cooked through. Transfer the chicken to plates discarding the bay leaves. Serve with aioli on the side.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “HERB BROILED (CHICKEN) WITH (ORANGE) AIOLI adapted from Food and Wine Magazine”

  1. Ms. Huis Herself Says:

    That sounds delicious! I’ve been trying to eat more fish – well, more being, really, any – so I’m always looking for a good new recipe to try. Maybe I’ll swap some fish BACK in & give it a go next week! 🙂

  2. Ms. Huis Herself Says:

    Actually, I realized I had everything we needed already here, including some oranges that were getting older. So, I made it tonight with cod & it was really good! Going in my make-again list, too! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

